The Ultima Handicap Steeple Chase 2023 | Cheltenham Festival

The Festival Trophy is a Grade 3 National Hunt steeplechase held in the United Kingdom for horses aged five and above. It is raced over a distance of around 3 miles and 1 furlong (5,029 meters) on the Old Course at Cheltenham, and there are twenty fences to leap throughout the race. It’s a handicap race that takes place every year on the first day of the Cheltenham Festival in March.

The event was originally called the National Hunt Handicap Chase, but since the early 1980s, it has been renamed to include the name of a sponsor. Ritz Club sponsored it from 1981 to 1996, Astec Buzz Shop in 1997, and William Hill from 1998 to 2010. The race was renamed the Stewart Family Spinal Research Handicap Chase in 2011 and was sponsored by the Stewart family, led by businessman and racehorse owner Andy Stewart, to increase awareness and showcase the charity’s work. JLT Specialty Ltd sponsored the race in 2012 and 2013, while Baylis & Harding sponsored the race in 2014. Ultima Business Solutions has sponsored the race since 2015.

The race’s winners often compete in the Grand National, albeit not usually in the same year. Royal Tan, Team Spirit, West Tip, Seagram, and Rough Quest are among the horses that have won both competitions.

The Ultima Handicap Chase Winner List 1946-2022

1946Dunnshaughlin8Bobby O'RyanCharles Rogers
1948Cavaliero7Ted VinallFred Rimell
1949Frere Jacques II7Ted VinallFred Rimell
1950Silver Fame11Martin MolonyGeorge Beeby
1951Land Fort7Johnny BullockFred Rimell
1952Royal Tan8Phonsie O'Brien[b]Vincent O'Brien
1953Four Ten7Tommy CusackJohn Roberts
1954Holly Bank7Peter Brookshaw[b]Fred Rimell
1955Limber Hill8Tim MolonyBill Dutton
1956Kerstin6George MilburnVerly Bewicke
1957Sentina7Pat TaaffeTom Dreaper
1958Sentina8Tom TaaffeTom Dreaper
1959Winning Coin7Dave DickGeorge Beeby
1960Isle of Skye9Tony KeenAlec Kilpatrick
1961Ravencroft8Fred WinterFulke Walwyn
1962Longtail7Stan MellorDick Curran
1963Team Spirit11Willie RobinsonFulke Walwyn
1964Prudent Barney10Terry BiddlecombeBobby Renton
1965Rondetto9Johnny HaineBob Turnell
1966Arkloin7Pat TaaffeTom Dreaper
1967Different Class7David MouldPeter Cazalet
1968Battledore7Kit StobbsArthur Stephenson
1969Chancer7Pat McCarronCharlie Hall
1970Charter Flight8Andrew TurnellBob Turnell
1971Lord Jim10Johnny HaineFulke Walwyn
1972Jomon6David MouldHarry Thomson Jones
1973The Chisler7Michael DickinsonTony Dickinson
1974Cuckolder9Andrew TurnellBob Turnell
1975King Flame9John FrancomeRichard Head
1976Barmer8Jimmy McNaughtRobin Blakeney
1977Gay Vulgan9Bill SmithFulke Walwyn
1979Fair View9Ridley LambGeorge Fairbairn
1980Again the Same7Jim Wilson[b]John Edwards
1981Current Gold10Neale DoughtyGordon W. Richards
1982Scot Lane9Craig SmithMartin Tate
1983Scot Lane10Craig SmithMartin Tate
1984Tracys Special7Steve KnightAndrew Turnell
1985West Tip8Richard DunwoodyMichael Oliver
1986Charter Party8Peter ScudamoreDavid Nicholson
1987Gainsay8Ben de HaanJenny Pitman
1988Aquilifer8Paul CroucherDavid Murray Smith
1989Dixton House10Tom MorganJohn Edwards
1990Bigsun9Richard DunwoodyDavid Nicholson
1991Seagram11Nigel HawkeDavid Barons
1992Tipping Tim7Carl LlewellynNigel Twiston-Davies
1993Givus a Buck10Paul HolleyDavid Elsworth
1994Antonin6John BurkeSue Bramall
1995Rough Quest9Mick FitzgeraldTerry Casey
1996Maamur8Andrew ThorntonTim Forster
1997Flyer's Nap11David BridgwaterRobert Alner
1998Unguided Missile10Paul CarberryGordon W. Richards
1999Betty's Boy10Norman WilliamsonKim Bailey
2000Marlborough8Mick FitzgeraldNicky Henderson
2002Frenchman's Creek8Paul CarberryHughie Morrison
2003Youlneverwalkalone9Barry GeraghtyChristy Roche
2004Fork Lightning8Robert ThorntonAlan King
2005Kelami7Robert ThorntonFrançois Doumen
2006Dun Doire7Ruby WalshTony Martin
2007Joes Edge10Davy RussellFerdy Murphy
2008An Accordion7Tom ScudamoreDavid Pipe
2009Wichita Lineman8Tony McCoyJonjo O'Neill
2010Chief Dan George10Paddy AspellJames Moffatt
2011Bensalem8Robert ThorntonAlan King
2012Alfie Sherrin9Richie McLernonJonjo O'Neill
2013Golden Chieftain8Brendan Powell JnrColin Tizzard
2014Holywell7Richie McLernonJonjo O'Neill
2015The Druids Nephew8Barry GeraghtyNeil Mulholland
2016Un Temps Pour Tout7Tom ScudamoreDavid Pipe
2017Un Temps Pour Tout8Tom ScudamoreDavid Pipe
2018Coo Star Sivola6Lizzie KellyNick Williams
2019Beware The Bear9Jeremiah McGrathNicky Henderson
2020The Conditional8Brendan Powell JnrDavid Bridgwater
2021Vintage Clouds11Ryan ManiaSue Smith
2022Corach Rambler8Derek FoxLucinda Russell

What is the total distance to be covered in the The Ultima Handicap Chase?

3m 1f (5,029 meters)

What is the Surface of The Ultima Handicap Chase?

The race will be on Turf Surface.

What is the minimum age requirement for The Ultima Handicap Chase 2023?

The age of the runner must be more than 5 years.

What Channel is The Ultima Handicap Chase 2023 on?

The Ultima Handicap Chase 2023 will be broadcasted on iTV1 and Racing TV. Besides this, you can approach various online streaming media services to watch the race live.

When is The Ultima Handicap Chase 2023?

The Ultima Handicap Chase 2023 is scheduled to happen on day one of Cheltenham Festival 2023, which is 14th March 2023.

What Time will the Ultima Handicap Chase 2023 Begin?

The Ultima Handicap Chase 2023 will begin at 14:50 UK time.

Where will be The Ultima Handicap Chase 2023?

The Ultima Handicap Chase is to happen on the Old Course at Cheltenham.

What is the Purse for The Ultima Handicap Chase 2023?

The purse for The Ultima Handicap Chase 2022 is expected to be somewhat near £100,000. In 2021, the winner took home £70,338 from the total prize pool of £125,000.

What are the Most Successful Horses for The Ultima Handicap Chase?

Here are the most successful horses with two wins:

  • Sentina – 1957, 1958
  • Scot Lane – 1982, 1983
  • Un Temps Pour Tout – 2016, 2017

Who are the Successful Jockey in The Ultima Handicap Chase History?

Here are a few of the jockeys with up to 3 wins with different horses.

  • Robert Thornton – Fork Lightning (2004), Kelami (2005), Bensalem (2011)
  • Tom Scudamore – An Accordion (2008), Un Temps Pour Tout (2016, 2017)

Who are the leading trainer in The Ultima Handicap Chase History?

Here is the most successful trainer in The Ultima Handicap Chase History with 4 wins.

  • Fred Rimell:  Cavaliero (1948), Frere Jacques II (1949), Land Fort (1951), Holly Bank (1954)
  • Fulke Walwyn: Ravencroft (1961), Team Spirit (1963), Lord Jim (1971), Gay Vulgan (1977)

Who won the Ultima Handicap Chase?

Corach Rambler won The Ultima Handicap Chase of 2022.

Leave a Comment