Topham Chase 2023 | Grand National Festival

The Topham Race is an English Grade 3 National Hunt handicap chase for horses aged five and up. It is held each year in April at Aintree over a distance of about 2 miles and 5 furlongs (2 miles, 5 furlongs, and 19 yards, or 4,242 meters).

From 1989 through 2001, the race was named for John Hughes, the late clerk of the course. Always Waining, trained by Peter Bowen and ridden by Tom O’Brien, won the race for the third time in April 2012.

The initial running of the Topham was in 1949. At the Aintree Festival, the Topham is one of three events raced over the Grand National obstacles, the other two being the Foxhunters’ Chase for amateur jockeys and the Grand National itself. On the second day of the meeting, the Topham Chase is being run.

Topham Chase Winner List 1949-2022

1949Cadamstown9J BroganJ Powell
1950Culworth9R CurranW (Charlie) Hall
1951Culworth10R CurranW (Charlie) Hall
1952Ballymagillan6Pat TaaffeTom Dreaper (Ir)
1953Irish Lizard10Dick FrancisFrenchie Nicholson
1954Little Yid12G SlackBobby Renton
1955Stormhead11P FarrellW (Charlie) Hall
1956John Jacques9J PowerWalter Wharton
1957Roughan10Harry EastNeville Crump
1958Roughan11Fred WinterNeville Crump
1959Clanyon7Grenville UnderwoodW Johns-Powell
1960Fresh Winds9Stan MellorRoy Whiston
1961Cupid’s Charge6Bill ReesPeter Cazalet
1962Dagmar Gittell7Josh GiffordBobby Renton
1963Barberyn8Michael ScudamoreW (Arthur) Stephenson
1964Red Tide7Jeff KingBob Turnell
1965Hopkiss7E P HartyAlec Kilpatrick
1966Walpole10Josh GiffordRyan Price
1967Georgetown7P MahoneyNoel Kusbish
1968Surcharge10S DavenportJohn Barclay
1969Dozo8Eddie HartyToby Balding
1970Charter Flight8Johnny HaineBob Turnell
1971Rigton Prince10John EnrightW (Arthur) Stephenson
1972Sunny Lad8Ken WhiteFred Rimell
1973Inch Arran9David MouldPeter Cazalet
1974Clear Cut10Jonjo O’NeillW (Charlie) Hall[2]
1975Our Greenwood7Tommy CarberryJim Dreaper (Ir)
1976Lictor9David SunderlandEdward Courage
1977Churchtown Boy10Chris ReadTaffy Salaman
1978Canit8Colin TinklerFred Rimell
1979Artic Ale8John Fowler[a]Dan Moore (Ir)
1980Uncle Bing11John FrancomeRichard Head
1981Mr Marlsbridge8Paul BartonDavid Gandolfo
1982Beacon Time8Kevin MooneyFulke Walwyn
1983Tiepolino11Hywel DaviesKevin Bishop
1984Fabulous11Andrew StringerJ S Wilson
1985Smith’s Man7Mark PerrettJenny Pitman
1986Glenrue9Richard DunwoodyTerry Casey
1987Strath Leader9Tom MorganJohn Edwards
1988Wiggburn9Mike WilliamsAnne Hewitt
1989Villierstown10Simon SherwoodW (Arthur) Stephenson
1990Wont Be Gone Long8Richard DunwoodyNicky Henderson
1991J-J-Henry12Anthea Farrell[a]Peter Beaumont
1992The Antartex9Richard DunwoodyGordon W. Richards
1993Sirrah Jay13Adrian MaguireToby Balding
1994Indian Tonic8Chris MaudeNigel Twiston-Davies
1995Dublin Flyer9Brendan Powell SnrTim Forster
1996Joe White10Paul CarberryHoward Johnson
1997Bells Life8Glen TormeyPhilip Hobbs
1998Cyfor Malta5Tony McCoyMartin Pipe
1999Listen Timmy10Tony DobbinSteve Brookshaw
2000Northern Starlight9Tony McCoyMartin Pipe
2001Gower-Slave9Richard JohnsonPhilip Hobbs
2002Its Time For A Win10Ruby WalshWillie Mullins
2003Clan Royal8Liam CooperJonjo O’Neill
2004Cassia Heights9Jim CullotySteve Brookshaw
2005Cregg House10Davy RussellShane Donohoe
2006Liberthine7Sam Waley-Cohen[a]Nicky Henderson
2007Dunbrody Millar9Jamie MoorePeter Bowen
2008Gwanako5Ruby WalshPaul Nicholls
2009Irish Raptor10Paddy BrennanNigel Twiston-Davies
2010Always Waining9Brian HughesPeter Bowen
2011Always Waining10Tom O’BrienPeter Bowen
2012Always Waining11Tom O’BrienPeter Bowen
2013Triolo D’Alene6Barry GeraghtyNicky Henderson
2014Ma Filleule6Barry GeraghtyNicky Henderson
2015Rajdhani Express8Sam Waley-Cohen[a]Nicky Henderson
2016Eastlake10Barry GeraghtyJonjo O’Neill
2017Ultragold9Harry CobdenColin Tizzard
2018Ultragold10Harry CobdenColin Tizzard
2019Cadmium7Paul TownendWillie Mullins
2021Livelovelaugh11Patrick Mullins[a]Willie Mullins
2022Mac Tottie9Sean BowenPeter Bowen

What is the total Distance to be covered in Topham Chase?

2 miles 5 furlongs, 19 yards (4,242 meters)

What is the Surface of Topham Chase?


What is the Minimum Age Requirement for Topham Chase 2023?

Five years old and up.

What Channel is Topham Chase 2023 on?

Topham Chase 2023 will be broadcasted on iTV1 and Racing TV. Besides this, you can approach various online streaming media services to watch the race live.

When is Topham Chase 2023?

Topham Chase 2023 is scheduled to happen on day 2 of Grand National 2023, 14th April 2023.

What Time will Topham Chase 2023 Begin?

Topham Chase 2023 will begin at 4:05 UK time.

Where will be Topham Chase 2023?

Topham Chase is to happen on the Aintree Racecourse.

What is the Purse for Topham Chase 2023?

The purse for Topham Chase 2023 is expected to be somewhat near £200,000. In 2022, the winner took £84,195 from the total prize pool of £150,000.

Leave a Comment