Top Novices’ Hurdle 2023 | Grand National Festival

The Top Novices’ Hurdle is a Grade One National Hunt hurdle race in the United Kingdom available to horses aged four and up. It is run over a distance of around 2 miles and half a furlong (2 miles and 103 yards, or 3,313 meters) at Aintree, and nine hurdles must be jumped throughout the running. The race is intended for novice hurdlers and is held each year during the Grand National meeting in early April.

The competition usually includes horses that have previously won the Supreme Novices’ Hurdle, and Browne’s Gazette was the last horse to win both races in 1984. The British Horseracing Authority promoted the Top Novices’ Hurdle to Grade One in 2016.

Top Novices’ Hurdle Winner List 2009-2022

1976Beacon Light5Bob TurnellAndy Turnell
1977Irish Rambler6Joe CrowleyJoe Crowley
1978Prousto5Jonjo O’NeillAlan Jarvis
1979Rimondo4Jonjo O’NeillTed Carter
1980Jugador5Ron DaviesDerek Kent
1981Burns5Bill SmithFulke Walwyn
1982Bright Oasis6Allen WebbKim Bailey
1983Very Promising5Sam MorsheadMercy Rimell
1984Browne’s Gazette6Dermot Browne[a]Michael Dickinson
1985Sailor’s Dance5Jimmy DugganFred Winter
1986I Bin Zaidoon5Graham McCourtJenny Pitman
1987Convinced5Peter ScudamoreMartin Pipe
1988Faraway Lad5Simon SherwoodOliver Sherwood
1989Young Benz5Lorcan WyerPeter Easterby
1990Fidway5Steve Smith EcclesTim Thomson Jones
1991Granville Again5Peter ScudamoreMartin Pipe
1992Carobee5Richard DunwoodyDavid Nicholson
1993Roll a Dollar7Paul HolleyDavid Elsworth
1994Jazilah6Graham McCourtReg Akehurst
1995Sweet Mignonette7Peter NivenMary Reveley
1996Tragic Hero4Jonothan LowerMartin Pipe
1997Midnight Legend6Richard JohnsonDavid Nicholson
1998Fataliste4Tony McCoyMartin Pipe
1999Joe Mac5Conor O’DwyerChristy Roche
2000Phardante Flyer6Richard JohnsonPhilip Hobbs
2001Ilico II5Adrian MaguirePhilip Hobbs
2002In Contrast6Richard JohnsonPhilip Hobbs
2003Limerick Boy5Tony DobbinVenetia Williams
2004Royal Shakespeare5Robert ThorntonSteve Gollings
2005Mighty Man5Richard JohnsonHenry Daly
2006Straw Bear5Tony McCoyNick Gifford
2007Blythe Knight7Tony McCoyJohn Quinn
2008Pierrot Lunaire4Ruby WalshPaul Nicholls
2009El Dancer5Dominic ElsworthLucy Wadham
2010General Miller5Barry GeraghtyNicky Henderson
2011Topolski5Daryl JacobDavid Arbuthnot
2012Darlan5Tony McCoyNicky Henderson
2013My Tent Or Yours6Tony McCoyNicky Henderson
2014Josses Hill6Barry GeraghtyNicky Henderson
2015Cyrus Darius6Brian HughesMalcolm Jefferson
2016Buveur d’Air5Noel FehilyNicky Henderson
2017Pingshou7Robbie PowerColin Tizzard
2018Lalor6Richard JohnsonKayley Woollacott
2019Felix Desjy6Jack KennedyGordon Elliott
2021Belfast Banter6Kevin SextonPeter Fahey
2022Jonbon6Aidan ColemanNicky Henderson

What is the total Distance to be covered in Top Novices’ Hurdle?

2 miles and half a furlong (2 miles and 103 yards, or 3,313 meters)

What is the Surface of the Top Novices’ Hurdle?


What is the Minimum Age Requirement for Top Novices’ Hurdle 2023?

Four years old and up.

What Channel is Top Novices’ Hurdle 2023 on?

Top Novices’ Hurdle 2023 will be broadcasted on iTV1 and Racing TV. Besides this, you can approach various online streaming media services to watch the race live.

When is Top Novices’ Hurdle 2023?

Top Novices’ Hurdle 2023 is scheduled for day 2 of Grand National 2023, 14th April 2023.

What Time will Top Novices’ Hurdle 2023 Begin?

Top Novices’ Hurdle 2023 will begin at 2:20 UK time.

Where will be Top Novices’ Hurdle 2023?

Top Novices’ Hurdle is to happen on the Aintree Racecourse.

Leave a Comment