The Sporting Life Arkle Challenge Trophy Steeple Chase 2023 | Cheltenham Festival

In the United Kingdom, the Arkle Challenge Trophy is a Grade 1 National Hunt steeplechase open for horses aged five and above. It is raced over a distance of around 2 miles (1 mile, 7 furlongs, and 199 yards, or 3,199 meters) on the Old Course at Cheltenham, England, and there are thirteen obstacles to leap throughout the race. The event is for novice chasers and is held every year in March at the Cheltenham Festival. It is the most popular beginner minimum-distance chase on the National Hunt schedule. It’s the second race of the festival’s first day.

Sporting Life Arkle Challenge Trophy Winner List 1946-2022

1946Bright Penny6Glen KellyBobby Norris
1948Top Cash6Glen KellyBobby Norris
1949Grand Refrain5Glen KellyBobby Norris
1950High Level5Johnny BullockFred Rimell
1951Red Steel5Dick FrancisFrank Cundell
1952Nautical Print5Tommy CusackGerry Wilson
1953Bramble Tudor5Tim MolonyStewart Wight
1954Armorial III5René EmeryFulke Walwyn
1955Manuscrit5Johnny BullockFulke Walwyn
1956Sir Ken9Tim MolonyWillie Stephenson
1957Ballyatom5Bob McCreery[b]George Beeby
1958Fortria6Tom TaaffeTom Dreaper
1959Flame Gun8Fred WinterCharlie Mallon
1960Mazurka6Ron HarrisonRon Smyth
1961Mountcashel King6Pat TaaffeTom Dreaper
1962Prudent Barney8Johnny EastBobby Renton
1963Ben Stack6Pat TaaffeTom Dreaper
1964Greektown8Michael ScudamoreWillie Stephenson
1965Flyingbolt6Pat TaaffeTom Dreaper
1966Arctic Sunset6George MilburnKen Oliver
1967Arctic Stream7Ben HannonPat Rooney
1968The Hustler6Barry BroganEarl Jones
1969Chatham5Terry BiddlecombeFred Rimell
1970Soloning5Paul KellewayFred Winter
1971Alpheus6Eddie WrightTom Dreaper
1972Pendil7Richard PitmanFred Winter
1973Denys Adventure8Graham ThornerTim Forster
1974Canasta Lad8Jeff KingPeter Bailey
1975Broncho II6Colin TinklerTony Dickinson
1976Roaring Wind8Reg CrankRoy Cambidge
1977Tip the Wink7Dessie HughesPat Taylor
1978Alverton8Graham ThornerPeter Easterby
1979Chinrullah7Dessie HughesMick O'Toole
1980Anaglogs Daughter7Tommy CarberryBill Durkan
1981Clayside7Alan BrownPeter Easterby
1982The Brockshee7Tommy CarberryArthur Moore
1983Ryeman6Alan BrownPeter Easterby
1984Bobsline8Frank BerryFrancis Flood
1985Boreen Prince8Niall MaddenAndrew McNamara
1986Oregon Trail6Ronnie BegganSimon Christian
1987Gala's Image7Richard LinleyMercy Rimell
1988Danish Flight9Mark DwyerJimmy FitzGerald
1989Waterloo Boy6Richard DunwoodyDavid Nicholson
1990Comandante8Peter HobbsJosh Gifford
1991Remittance Man7Richard DunwoodyNicky Henderson
1992Young Pokey7Jamie OsborneOliver Sherwood
1993Travado7Jamie OsborneNicky Henderson
1994Nakir6Jamie OsborneSimon Christian
1995Klairon Davis6Francis WoodsArthur Moore
1996Ventana Canyon7Richard DunwoodyEdward O'Grady
1997Or Royal6Tony McCoyMartin Pipe
1998Champleve5Tony McCoyMartin Pipe
1999Flagship Uberalles5Joe TizzardPaul Nicholls
2000Tiutchev7Mick FitzgeraldNicky Henderson
2002Moscow Flyer8Barry GeraghtyJessica Harrington
2003Azertyuiop6Ruby WalshPaul Nicholls
2004Well Chief5Tony McCoyMartin Pipe
2005Contraband7Timmy MurphyMartin Pipe
2006Voy Por Ustedes5Robert ThorntonAlan King
2007My Way de Solzen7Robert ThorntonAlan King
2008Tidal Bay7Denis O'ReganHoward Johnson
2009Forpadydeplasterer7Barry GeraghtyTom Cooper
2010Sizing Europe8Andrew LynchHenry de Bromhead
2011Captain Chris7Richard JohnsonPhilip Hobbs
2012Sprinter Sacre6Barry GeraghtyNicky Henderson
2013Simonsig7Barry GeraghtyNicky Henderson
2014Western Warhorse6Tom ScudamoreDavid Pipe
2015Un de Sceaux7Ruby WalshWillie Mullins
2016Douvan6Ruby WalshWillie Mullins
2017Altior7Nico de BoinvilleNicky Henderson
2018Footpad6Ruby WalshWillie Mullins
2019Duc des Genievres6Paul TownendWillie Mullins
2020Put The Kettle On6Aidan ColemanHenry de Bromhead
2021Shishkin7Nico de BoinvilleNicky Henderson
2022Edwardstone8Tom CannonAlan King

What is the total distance to be covered in the Sporting Life Arkle Challenge Trophy?

1m 7f 199y (3,499 meters)

What is the Surface of the Sporting Life Arkle Challenge Trophy?

The race will be on Turf Surface.

What is the minimum age requirement for Sporting Life Arkle Challenge Trophy 2023?

The age of the runner must be more than 5 years.

What Channel is the Sporting Life Arkle Challenge Trophy 2023 on?

Sporting Life Arkle Challenge Trophy 2023 will be broadcasted on iTV1 and Racing TV. Besides this, you can approach various online streaming media services to watch the race live.

When is the Sporting Life Arkle Challenge Trophy 2023?

The Sporting Life Arkle Challenge Trophy 2023 is scheduled to happen on day one of Cheltenham Festival 2022 which is 14th March 2023.

What Time will the Sporting Life Arkle Challenge Trophy 2023 Begin?

The Sporting Life Arkle Challenge Trophy 2023 will begin at 14:10 UK time.

Where will be the Sporting Life Arkle Challenge Trophy 2023?

The Sporting Life Arkle Challenge Trophy is to happen on the Old Course at Cheltenham.

What is the Purse for Sporting Life Arkle Challenge Trophy 2023?

The purse for the Sporting Life Arkle Challenge Trophy 2023 is expected to be somewhat near £200,000. Due to the race being conducted behind closed doors, the prize amount was lowered in 2021. The winner took home £102,482 from the total prize pool of £175,000.

Who are the Successful Jockey in Sporting Life Arkle Challenge Trophy History?

Here are a few of the jockeys with up to 4 wins with different horses.

  • Barry Geraghty – Moscow Flyer (2002), Forpadydeplasterer (2009), Sprinter Sacre (2012), Simonsig (2013)
  • Ruby Walsh – Azertyuiop (2003), Un de Sceaux (2015), Douvan (2016), Footpad (2018)

Who is the leading trainer in Sporting Life Arkle Challenge Trophy History?

Nicky Henderson is the leading trainer with Remittance Man (1991), Travado (1993), Tiutchev (2000), Sprinter Sacre (2012), Simonsig (2013), Altior (2017), and Shishkin (2021).

Who won the Sporting Life Arkle Challenge Trophy?

Edwardstone won The Sporting life Arkle Challenge Trophy of 2022.

Leave a Comment