Sefton Novices’ Hurdle 2023 | Grand National Festival

The Sefton Novices’ Hurdle is a Grade 1 National Hunt hurdle race in the United Kingdom available to horses aged four and above. It is run at Aintree over a distance of approximately 3 miles and half a furlong (4,964 meters), with thirteen hurdles to be jumped. The race is intended for novice hurdlers and is held yearly during the Grand National meeting in early April.

The race was first held in 1988 and was known as the White Satin Novices’ Hurdle. It was classified as Grade 2 for a time. The race received its current name in 1993 and was elevated to the Grade 1 classification in 1995.

In recent years, the Sefton Novices’ Hurdle has usually included horses that won the Spa Novices’ Hurdle the month before, and the last horse to win both events was at Fishers Cross in 2013.

Sefton Novices’ Hurdle Winner List 1988-2022

1988Rustle6Michael BowlbyNicky Henderson
1989Boreen Belle7Charlie SwanBill Harney
1990Dwadme5Jamie OsborneOliver Sherwood
1991Derring Valley6Graham McCourtAnthony Jones
1992Barton Bank6Carl LlewellynDavid Nicholson
1993Cardinal Red6Ben de HaanCath Walwyn
1994Corner Boy7Adrian MaguireDavid Nicholson
1995Morgan’s Harbour9Peter NivenMary Reveley
1996Pleasure Shared8Paul CarberryPhilip Hobbs
1997Forest Ivory6Richard JohnsonDavid Nicholson
1998Unsinkable Boxer9Tony McCoyMartin Pipe
1999King’s Road6Carl LlewellynNigel Twiston-Davies
2000Sackville7Barry GeraghtyFrances Crowley
2001Garruth7Russ GarrittyTim Easterby
2002Stromness5Robert ThorntonAlan King
2003Iris’s Gift6Barry GeraghtyJonjo O’Neill
2004Accipiter5Tom BestToby Balding
2005Asian Maze6Ruby WalshTom Mullins
2006Black Jack Ketchum7Tony McCoyJonjo O’Neill
2007Chief Dan George7Mick FitzgeraldJames Moffatt
2008Pettifour6Paddy BrennanNigel Twiston-Davies
2009Ogee6Jimmy McCarthyRenee Robeson
2010Wayward Prince6Dougie CostelloIan Williams
2011Saint Are5Richard JohnsonTim Vaughan
2012Lovcen7Robert ThorntonAlan King
2013At Fishers Cross6Tony McCoyRebecca Curtis
2014Beat That6Barry GeraghtyNicky Henderson
2015Thistlecrack7Tom ScudamoreColin Tizzard
2016Ballyoptic6Ryan HatchNigel Twiston-Davies
2017The Worlds End6Adrian HeskinTom George
2018Santini6Nico de BoinvilleNicky Henderson
2019Champ7Mark WalshNicky Henderson
2021Ahoy Senor6Derek FoxLucinda Russell
2022Gelino Bello6Harry CobdenPaul Nicholls

What is the total Distance to be covered in Sefton Novices’ Hurdle?

3m 149y (4,964 meters)

What is the Surface of Sefton Novices’ Hurdle?


What is the Minimum Age Requirement for Sefton Novices’ Hurdle 2023?

Four years old and up.

What Channel is Sefton Novices’ Hurdle 2023 on?

Sefton Novices’ Hurdle 2023 will be broadcasted on iTV1 and Racing TV. Besides this you can approach various online streaming media services to watch the race live.

When is Sefton Novices’ Hurdle 2023?

Sefton Novices’ Hurdle 2023 is scheduled to happen on day 2 of Grand National 2023, 14th April 2023.

What Time will Sefton Novices’ Hurdle 2023 Begin?

Sefton Novices’ Hurdle 2023 will begin at 4:40 UK time.

Where will be Sefton Novices’ Hurdle 2023?

Sefton Novices’ Hurdle is to happen on the Aintree Racecourse.

What is the Purse for Sefton Novices’ Hurdle 2023?

The purse for Sefton Novices’ Hurdle 2023 is expected to be somewhat near £200,000. In 2022, the winner took home £56,270 from the total prize pool of £100,000.

Who are the Successful Jockey in Sefton Novices’ Hurdle History?

With 4 wins, Tony McCoy – Unsinkable Boxer (1998), Black Jack Ketchum (2006), At Fishers Cross (2013) and Barry Geraghty – Sackville (2000), Iris’s Gift (2003), Beat That (2014) are the most successful Jockey.

Who are the leading trainer in Sefton Novices’ Hurdle History?

With 4 wins, Nicky Henderson – Rustle (1988), Beat That (2014), Santini (2018), Champ (2019) are the most successful trainers.

Leave a Comment