Red Rum Handicap Chase 2023 | Grand National Festival

The Red Rum Handicap Chase is a Grade 3 National Hunt steeplechase in the United Kingdom open to horses aged five and up. It is run over a distance of around 2 miles (1 mile, 7 furlongs, and 176 yards, or 3,178 meters) on the Mildmay course at Aintree, with twelve jumps to be jumped. It is a handicap race that takes place each year in early April.

The race is named after Red Rum, a three-time Grand National champion in the 1970s. It was previously known as the Aintree Chase before being renamed the Red Rum Chase in 1997.

The event was previously run as a limited handicap (a race with a specific weight range), and it was elevated to Grade 2 level in 1991. It became a standard handicap in 2001 and has been known as the Red Rum Handicap Chase since then. This version was originally classified as Listed, but it was upgraded to Grade 3 status in 2004.

Red Rum Handicap Chase Winner List 1976-2022

1976Menehall9M FloydFulke Walwyn
1977Skymas12Mouse MorrisBrian Lusk
1978Even Melody9Colin HawkinsNeville Crump
1979Funny Baby8Ridley LambGeorge Fairbairn
1980Drumgora8Tommy McGivernArthur Moore
1981Western Rose9Sam MorsheadFred Rimell
1982Little Bay7Jonjo O’NeillGordon W. Richards
1983Artifice12Peter ScudamoreJohn Thorne
1984Little Bay9John FrancomeGordon W. Richards
1985Kathies Lad8Steve Smith EcclesAlan Jarvis
1986Kathies Lad9Steve Smith EcclesAlan Jarvis
1987Sea Merchant10Ridley LambArthur Stephenson
1988Prideaux Boy10Allen WebbGraham Roach
1989Feroda8Tom TaaffeArthur Moore
1990Nohalmdun9Lorcan WyerPeter Easterby
1991Blitzkreig8Tommy CarmodyEdward O’Grady
1992Katabatic9Simon McNeillAndrew Turnell
1993Boutzdaroff11Mark DwyerJimmy FitzGerald
1994Uncle Ernie9Mark DwyerJimmy FitzGerald
1995Coulton8Jamie OsborneOliver Sherwood
1996Arctic Kinsman8Carl LlewellynNigel Twiston-Davies
1997Down the Fell8Norman WilliamsonHoward Johnson
1998Jeffell8Conor O’DwyerArthur Moore
1999Flying Instructor9Jimmy McCarthyPaul Webber
2000Jungli7Jimmy McCarthyPaul Webber
2001Aghawadda Gold9Russ GarrittyTom Tate
2002Dark’n Sharp7Richard JohnsonRichard Phillips
2003Golden Alpha9Tony McCoyMartin Pipe
2004Tidour8Tom DoylePaul Webber
2005Fota Island9Tony McCoyMouse Morris
2006Jacks Craic7Tony EvansJohn Spearing
2007Bambi de l’Orme8Dominic ElsworthIan Williams
2008Stan9Aidan ColemanVenetia Williams
2009Oh Crick6Robert ThorntonAlan King
2010Chaninbar7Sean QuinlanMilton Harris
2011Silk Drum6Paul GallagherHoward Johnson
2012Edgardo Sol5Ruby WalshPaul Nicholls
2013Oiseau de Nuit11Brendan PowellColin Tizzard
2014Parsnip Pete8Paddy BrennanTom George
2015Surf And Turf9Brian HughesKevin Frost
2016Katachenko7Wayne HutchinsonDonald McCain
2017Double W’s7Brian HughesMalcolm Jefferson
2018Bentelimar9Jonathan BurkeCharlie Longsdon
2019Moon Over Germany8Rachael BlackmoreHenry de Bromhead
2021Editeur Du Gite7Joshua MooreGary Moore
2022The Last Day10Adam WedgeEvan Williams

What is the total Distance to be covered in Red Rum Handicap Chase?

1m 7f 176y (3,178 meters)

What is the Surface of Red Rum Handicap Chase?


What is the Minimum Age Requirement for Red Rum Handicap Chase 2023?

Five years old and up.

What Channel is Red Rum Handicap Chase 2023 on?

Red Rum Handicap Chase 2023 will be broadcasted on iTV1 and Racing TV. Besides this, you can approach various online streaming media services to watch the race live.

When is Red Rum Handicap Chase 2023?

Red Rum Handicap Chase 2023 is scheduled to happen on day 1 of Grand National 2023, which is 13th April, 2023.

What Time will Red Rum Handicap Chase 2023 Begin?

Red Rum Handicap Chase 2023 will begin at 4:40 UK time.

Where will be Red Rum Handicap Chase 2023?

Red Rum Handicap Chase is to happen on the Aintree Racecourse.

What is the Purse for Red Rum Handicap Chase 2023?

The purse for Red Rum Handicap Chase 2023 is expected to be somewhat near £300,000. In 2022, the winner took £56,270 from the total prize pool of £100,000.

Leave a Comment