The Queen Mother Champion Steeple Chase 2023 | Cheltenham Festival

The Queen Mother Champion Chase is a Grade 1 National Hunt steeplechase held in the United Kingdom for horses aged five and above. The event is currently called the Betway Queen Mother Champion Chase, thanks to a sponsorship arrangement with the internet betting business Betway.

It is raced over a distance of around 2 miles (1 mile 7 furlongs and 199 yards, or 3,199 meters) on the Old Course at Cheltenham, and there are thirteen obstacles to leap throughout the race. The event will take place every year in March at the Cheltenham Festival. It is the most important minimum-distance chase on the National Hunt calendar, and it is the highlight of the Festival’s second day.

Queen Mother Champion Chase Winner List 1959-2022

1959Quita Que10Bunny CoxDan MooreMrs D. R. Brand
1960Fortria8Pat TaaffeTom DreaperGeorge Ansley
1961Fortria9Pat TaaffeTom DreaperGeorge Ansley
1962Piperton8Dave DickArchie ThomlinsonArchie Thomlinson
1963Sandy Abbot8Stan MellorGeorge OwenMrs J. D. McKechnie
1964Ben Stack7Pat TaaffeTom DreaperDuchess of Westminster
1965Dunkirk8Dave DickPeter CazaletBill Whitbread
1966Flyingbolt7Pat TaaffeTom DreaperJean Wilkinson
1967Drinny's Double9Frank NashBob TurnellPaul Mellon
1968Drinny's Double10Frank NashBob TurnellPaul Mellon
1969Muir10Ben HannonTom DreaperWaring Willis
1970Straight Fort7Pat TaaffeTom DreaperGeorge Ansley
1971Crisp8Paul KellewayFred WinterSir Chester Manifold
1972Royal Relief8Bill SmithEdward CourageEdward Courage
1973Inkslinger6Tommy CarberryDan MooreMrs M. Jenney
1974Royal Relief10Bill SmithEdward CourageEdward Courage
1975Lough Inagh8Sean BarkerJim DreaperA. Martin
1976Skymas11Mouse MorrisBrian LuskMatt Magee
1977Skymas12Mouse MorrisBrian LuskMatt Magee
1978Hilly Way8Tommy CarmodyPeter McCreeryJ. W. Sweeney
1979Hilly Way9Ted Walsh[a]Peter McCreeryJ. W. Sweeney
1980Another Dolly [b]10Sam MorsheadFred RimellIan Urquhart
1981Drumgora9Frank BerryArthur MooreD. Monahan
1982Rathgorman10Kevin WhyteMichael DickinsonJ. Lilley
1983Badsworth Boy8Robert EarnshawMichael DickinsonDoug Armitage
1984Badsworth Boy9Robert EarnshawMichael DickinsonDoug Armitage
1985Badsworth Boy10Robert EarnshawMonica DickinsonDoug Armitage
1986Buck House8Tommy CarmodyMouse MorrisMrs Phil Purcell
1987Pearlyman8Peter ScudamoreJohn EdwardsValerie Shaw
1988Pearlyman9Tom MorganJohn EdwardsValerie Shaw
1989Barnbrook Again8Simon SherwoodDavid ElsworthMel Davies
1990Barnbrook Again9Hywel DaviesDavid ElsworthMel Davies
1991Katabatic8Simon McNeillAndrew TurnellPell-Mell Partners
1992Remittance Man8Jamie OsborneNicky HendersonTim Collins
1993Deep Sensation8Declan MurphyJosh GiffordRobin Eliot
1994Viking Flagship7Adrian MaguireDavid NicholsonRoach Foods Ltd
1995Viking Flagship8Charlie SwanDavid NicholsonRoach Foods Ltd
1996Klairon Davis7Francis WoodsArthur MooreChris Jones
1997Martha's Son10Rodney FarrantTim ForsterHartigan / Ward-Thomas
1998One Man10Brian HardingGordon W. RichardsJohn Hales
1999Call Equiname9Mick FitzgeraldPaul NichollsCoburn / Barber / Lewis
2000Edredon Bleu8Tony McCoyHenrietta KnightJim Lewis
2002Flagship Uberalles8Richard JohnsonPhilip HobbsGutner / Krysztofiak
2003Moscow Flyer9Barry GeraghtyJessica HarringtonBrian Kearney
2004Azertyuiop7Ruby WalshPaul NichollsJohn Hales
2005Moscow Flyer11Barry GeraghtyJessica HarringtonBrian Kearney
2006Newmill8Andrew McNamaraJohn Joseph MurphyMary Hayes
2007Voy Por Ustedes6Robert ThorntonAlan KingSir Robert Ogden
2008Master Minded5Ruby WalshPaul NichollsClive D. Smith
2009Master Minded6Ruby WalshPaul NichollsClive D. Smith
2010Big Zeb9Barry GeraghtyColm MurphyPatrick Joseph Redmond
2011Sizing Europe9Andrew LynchHenry de BromheadAnn & Alan Potts
2012Finian's Rainbow9Barry GeraghtyNicky HendersonMichael Buckley
2013Sprinter Sacre7Barry GeraghtyNicky HendersonCaroline Mould
2014Sire de Grugy8Jamie MooreGary MoorePreston Family & Friends
2015Dodging Bullets7Sam Twiston-DaviesPaul NichollsMartin Broughton & Friends
2016Sprinter Sacre10Nico de BoinvilleNicky HendersonCaroline Mould
2017Special Tiara10Noel FehilyHenry de BromheadSally Rowley-Williams
2018Altior8Nico de BoinvilleNicky HendersonPatricia Pugh
2019Altior9Nico de BoinvilleNicky HendersonPatricia Pugh
2020Politologue9Harry SkeltonPaul NichollsJohn Hales
2021Put The Kettle On7Aidan ColemanHenry de BromheadOne For Luck Racing Syndicate
2022Energumene8Paul TownendWillie MullinsTony Bloom

What is the total distance to be covered in the Queen Mother Champion Chase?

1m 7f 199y (3,199 meters)

What is the surface of the Queen Mother Champion Chase?

The race will be on Turf Surface.

What is the minimum age requirement for Queen Mother Champion Chase 2023?

The age of the runner must be more than 5 years.

What channel is the Queen Mother Champion Chase 2023 on?

Queen Mother Champion Chase 2023 will be broadcasted on iTV1 and Racing TV. Besides this, you can approach various online streaming media services to watch the race live.

When is the Betway Queen Mother Champion Chase 2023?

The Betway Queen Mother Champion Chase 2023 is scheduled to happen on day two of Cheltenham Festival 2023 which is 15th March 2023.

What Time will the Betway Queen Mother Champion Chase 2023 Begin?

The Betway Queen Mother Champion Chase 2023 will begin at 15:30 UK time.

Where will be the Betway Queen Mother Champion Chase 2023?

The Betway Queen Mother Champion Chase is to happen on the Old Course at Cheltenham.

What is the Purse for Betway Queen Mother Champion Chase 2023?

The purse for the Betway Queen Mother Champion Chase 2023 is expected to be somewhat near £400,000. In 2021, the winner took home £168,810 from the total prize pool of £300,000.

What are the most successful Horses for Queen Mother Champion Chase?

Badsworth Boy (1983, 1984, 1985) is the most successful horse in history to date. He has won 3 races that are all-time great.

Who is the successful Jockey in Queen Mother Champion Chase History?

Here are a few of the jockeys with up to 5 wins with different horses.

  • Pat Taaffe: Fortria (1960, 1961), Ben Stack (1964), Flyingbolt (1966), Straight Fort (1970)
  • Barry Geraghty: Moscow Flyer (2003, 2005), Big Zeb (2010), Finian’s Rainbow (2012), Sprinter Sacre (2013)

Who is the leading trainer in Queen Mother Champion Chase History?

Here is the most successful trainer in Queen Mother Champion Chase History.

  • Tom Dreaper – Fortria (1960, 1961), Ben Stack (1964), Flyingbolt (1966), Muir (1969), Straight Fort (1970)
  • Nicky Henderson – Remittance Man (1992), Finian’s Rainbow (2012), Sprinter Sacre (2013, 2016), Altior (2018, 2019)
  • Paul Nicholls – Call Equiname (1999), Azertyuiop (2004), Master Minded (2008, 2009), Dodging Bullets (2015), Politologue (2020)

Who is the Leading Owner of The Queen Mother Champion Chase?

Here is the list of the leading owners of the queen mother champion chase.

  • George Ansley – Fortria (1960, 1961), Straight Fort (1970)
  • Doug Armitage – Badsworth Boy (1983, 1984, 1985)
  • John Hales – One Man (1998), Azertyuiop (2004), Politologue (2020)

Who won the Queen Mother Champion Chase?

Energumene won the Queen Mother Champion Steeple Chase of 2022.

Leave a Comment