Plate Handicap Chase 2023 | Cheltenham Festival

Craft Irish Whiskey Company Plate Handicap Chase is a Grade 3 National Hunt steeplechase in the United Kingdom accessible to horses aged five and up. It is run over a distance of around 2 miles and 412 furlongs (2 miles 4 furlongs, and 127 yards, or 4,139 meters) on the New Course at Cheltenham, with seventeen fences to be jumped. It is a handicap event that is held each year at the Cheltenham Festival in March.

The event was named after the 2nd Baron Mildmay of Flete (1909-1950), an amateur National Hunt rider who won three races at the Cheltenham Festival. The first race was held in April 1951, after the scheduled March event had to be canceled owing to a flooded course. The Mildmay of Flete Handicap Chase was the original name.

The Racing Post sponsored the event from 2006 to 2008, and it was known as the Racing Post Plate during that time. The 2009 running was dubbed the Freddie Williams Festival Plate in honor of Freddie Williams (1942-2008), a renowned Scottish bookmaker who owned a Cheltenham pitch. From 2010 to 2014, the tournament was sponsored by the construction business Byrne Group, and from 2015 to 2020, it was sponsored by Brown Advisory and Merriebelle Stable. In 2021, the event was sponsored by the bookmaking firm Paddy Power. The sponsorship was taken up by The Craft Irish Whiskey Co. in 2022.

Plate Handicap Chase Winner List 1951-2022

1951Canford (DH)92-DecGlen KellyIvor Anthony
1951Slender (DH)910–11Fred WinterRyan Price
1952Portarlington78-OctKen MullinsWillie Stephenson
1953Sy Oui83-OctFred WinterRyan Price
1954Tudor Line910–12George SlackBobby Renton
1955Mont Tremblant97-DecDave DickFulke Walwyn
1956Pondapatarri7Nov-00René EmeryGeorge Beeby
1957Madras72-OctJohnny BullockMichael Marsh
1958Caesar’s Helm76-NovFred WinterBobby Renton
1959Siracusa610–12Jumbo WilkinsonBobby Renton
1960Devon Customer84-OctJoe GuestSyd Bowler
1961Malting Barley64-OctOwen McNallyToby Balding
1962Spring Greeting710–06Johnny LehaneVerly Bewicke
1963Milo84-OctJosh GiffordHerbert Blagrave
1964Take Plenty81-OctRon VibertTim Forster
1965Snaigow63-OctJohnny LehaneVerly Bewicke
1966Tibidabo64-OctJeff KingArthur Freeman
1967French March79-SepBen Hanbury[a]Tom Hanbury
1968Merry Court73-OctJosh GiffordBobby Renton
1969Specify72-NovBob DaviesDenis Rayson
1970Verona Forest7Nov-00Gerry ScottNeville Crump
1971Hound Tor72-OctMacer GiffordGuy Harwood
1972Mocharabuice97-OctGraham ThornerTim Forster
1973Vulgan Town7Oct-00Johnny HaineToby Balding
1974Garnishee1010–10David MouldHarry Thomson Jones
1975Summerville910–13Andrew TurnellBob Turnell
1976Broncho II71-NovMichael DickinsonTony Dickinson
1977Uncle Bing85-DecJohn FrancomeRichard Head
1978King or Country79-OctPaul LeachDavid Barons
1979Brawny Scot9Oct-00Ridley LambGeorge Fairbairn
1980Snowshill Sailor84-OctAndrew TurnellBob Turnell
1981Political Pop7Oct-00Robert EarnshawMichael Dickinson
1982Doubleuagain8Oct-00Frank BerryAndy Geraghty
1983Mr Peapock77-SepLeslie BloomfieldTrevor Hallett
1984Half Free86-NovRichard LinleyFred Winter
1985The Tsarevich97-NovJohn WhiteNicky Henderson
1986The Tsarevich105-NovJohn WhiteNicky Henderson
1987Gee-A809–10Gee Armytage[a]Geoff Hubbard
1988Smart Tar72-OctCarl LlewellynMark Wilkinson
1989Paddyboro117-OctRichard RoweJosh Gifford
1990New Halen97-SepEamon TierneyPaul James
1991Foyle Fisherman12Nov-00Eamon MurphyJosh Gifford
1992Elfast9Nov-00Martin LynchJohn Webber
1993Sacre d’Or8Nov-00Graham McCourtNigel Tinkler
1994Elfast114-NovGraham McCourtJohn Webber
1995Kadi64-OctNorman WilliamsonDavid Nicholson
1996Old Bridge87-SepGary CroneAndrew Turnell
1997Terao117-OctTimmy MurphyMartin Pipe
1998Super Coin10Oct-00Norman WilliamsonRichard Lee
1999Majadou5Nov-00Tony McCoyMartin Pipe
2000Dark Stranger93-OctRichard JohnsonMartin Pipe
2002Blowing Wind910–09Ruby WalshMartin Pipe
2003Young Spartacus109-OctRichard JohnsonHenry Daly
2004Tikram7Oct-00Timmy MurphyGary L. Moore
2005Liberthine61-OctSam Waley-Cohen[a]Nicky Henderson
2006Non So83-NovMick FitzgeraldNicky Henderson
2007Idole First87-OctAlan O’KeeffeVenetia Williams
2008Mister McGoldrick117-NovDominic ElsworthSue Smith
2009Something Wells87-OctWill Biddick[a]Venetia Williams
2010Great Endeavour61-OctDanny CookDavid Pipe
2011Holmwood Legend109-OctKeiran BurkePatrick Rodford
2012Salut Flo710–10Tom ScudamoreDavid Pipe
2013Carrickboy95-OctLiam TreadwellVenetia Williams
2014Ballynagour89-OctTom ScudamoreDavid Pipe
2015Darna910–11David BassKim Bailey
2016Empire of Dirt910–11Bryan CooperColm Murphy
2017Road to Respect610–13Bryan CooperNoel Meade
2018The Storyteller711–04Davy RussellGordon Elliott
2019Siruh Du Lac68-OctLizzie KellyNick Williams
2020Simply The Betts74-NovGavin SheehanHarry Whittington
2021The Shunter85-OctJordan GainfordEmmet Mullins
2022Coole Cody112-NovAdam WedgeEvan Williams

What is the total Distance to be covered in Plate Handicap Chase?

2m 4f 127y (4,139 meters)

What is the Surface of Plate Handicap Chase?


What is the Minimum Age Requirement for Plate Handicap Chase 2023?

Five-years-old and up.

What Channel is Plate Handicap Chase 2023 on?

Plate Handicap Chase 2023 will be broadcasted on iTV1 and Racing TV. Besides this you can approach various online streaming media services to watch the race live.

When is Plate Handicap Chase 2023?

Plate Handicap Chase 2023 is scheduled to be happen on the day 3 of Cheltenham Festival 2023 which is 16th March, 2023.

What Time will Plate Handicap Chase 2023 Begin?

Plate Handicap Chase 2023 will begin at 14:10 UK time.

Where will be Plate Handicap Chase 2023?

Plate Handicap Chase is to be happen on the Old Course at Cheltenham.

What is the Purse for Plate Handicap Chase 2023?

The purse for Plate Handicap Chase 2023 is expected to somewhat near £350,000. In 2021, the winner, took home £46,423 from the total prize pool of £82,500.

Who are the Successful Jockey in Plate Handicap Chase History?

Fred Winter – Slender (1951, dead-heat), Sy Oui (1953), Caesar’s Helm (1958)

Who are the leading trainer in Plate Handicap Chase History?

  • Bobby Renton – Tudor Line (1954), Caesar’s Helm (1958), Siracusa (1959), Merry Court (1968)
  • Nicky Henderson – The Tsarevich (1985, 1986), Liberthine (2005), Non So (2006)
  • Martin Pipe – Terao (1997), Majadou (1999), Dark Stranger (2000), Blowing Wind (2002)

Leave a Comment