Mildmay Novices’ Chase 2023 | Grand National Festival

The Mildmay Novices’ Chase is a Grade One National Hunt chase in the United Kingdom available to horses aged five and above. It is run over a distance of about 3 miles and 1 furlong (3 miles and 210 yards, or 5,020 meters) on the Mildmay course at Aintree, with nineteen obstacles to be jumped. The race is intended for novice chasers and is held yearly during the Grand National meeting in early April.

The race was founded in 1981, and the first two winners, Bregawn and Burrough Hill Lad, went on to win the Cheltenham Gold Cup. Mumm used to be a regular sponsor of the race, although it has had various other sponsors since 2001. Betway, the most recent of these, began supporting the tournament in 2017. It was elevated to Grade One after its 2014 run.

The Mildmay Novices’ Chase usually involves horses that have previously run in the RSA Insurance Novices’ Chase, and Might Bite was the last horse to win both events in 2017.

Mildmay Novices’ Chase Winner List 1981-2022

1981Bregawn7Robert EarnshawMichael Dickinson
1982Burrough Hill Lad6Phil TuckJenny Pitman
1983Everett8Stuart ShilstonFulke Walwyn
1984Baron Blakeney7Oliver Sherwood[a]Martin Pipe
1985Rhyme ‘n’ Reason6Graham BradleyDavid Murray Smith
1986Stearsby7Graham BradleyJenny Pitman
1987Against the Grain6Richard DunwoodyDavid Nicholson
1988Delius10Bruce DowlingRichard Lee
1989Swardean7Bruce DowlingRichard Lee
1990Royal Athlete7Mark PitmanJenny Pitman
1991Sparkling Flame7Richard DunwoodyNicky Henderson
1992Bradbury Star7Eamon MurphyJosh Gifford
1993Cab On Target7Peter NivenMary Reveley
1994Monsieur Le Cure8Peter NivenJohn Edwards
1995Banjo5Richard DunwoodyMartin Pipe
1996Addington Boy8Brian HardingGordon W. Richards
1997Cyborgo7Richard DunwoodyMartin Pipe
1998Boss Doyle6Tony McCoyMouse Morris
1999Spendid7Richard JohnsonDavid Nicholson
2000High Game6Norman WilliamsonSimon Sherwood
2001What’s Up Boys7Richard JohnsonPhilip Hobbs
2002Barton9Tony DobbinTim Easterby
2003Irish Hussar7Mick FitzgeraldNicky Henderson
2004Simply Supreme7Richard McGrathSue Smith
2005Like-A-Butterfly11Tony McCoyChristy Roche
2006Star de Mohaison5Barry GeraghtyPaul Nicholls
2007Aces Four8Graham LeeFerdy Murphy
2008Big Buck’s5Ruby WalshPaul Nicholls
2009Killyglen7Denis O’ReganHoward Johnson
2010Burton Port6Barry GeraghtyNicky Henderson
2011Quito De La Roque7Davy RussellColm Murphy
2012Silviniaco Conti6Ruby WalshPaul Nicholls
2013Dynaste7Tom ScudamoreDavid Pipe
2014Holywell7Tony McCoyJonjo O’Neill
2015Saphir Du Rheu6Sam Twiston-DaviesPaul Nicholls
2016Native River6Richard JohnsonColin Tizzard
2017Might Bite8Nico de BoinvilleNicky Henderson
2018Terrefort5Daryl JacobNicky Henderson
2019Lostintranslation7Robbie PowerColin Tizzard
2021Chantry House7Nico de BoinvilleNicky Henderson
2022Ahoy Senor7Derek FoxLucinda Russell

What is the total Distance to be covered in Mildmay Novices’ Chase?

(3 miles and 210 yards, or 5,020 meters)

What is the Surface of Mildmay Novices’ Chase?


What is the Minimum Age Requirement for Mildmay Novices’ Chase 2023?

Five years old and up.

What Channel is Mildmay Novices’ Chase 2023 on?

Mildmay Novices’ Chase 2023 will be broadcasted on iTV1 and Racing TV. Besides this, you can approach various online streaming media services to watch the race live.

When is Mildmay Novices’ Chase 2023?

Mildmay Novices’ Chase 2023 is scheduled to happen on day 2 of Grand National 2023, 14th April 2023.

Leave a Comment