Mersey Novices’ Hurdle 2023 | Grand National Festival

The Mersey Novices’ Hurdle is a Grade One National Hunt hurdle competition held in Great Britain for horses aged four and up. It is held at Aintree, Merseyside, about 2 miles and 4 furlongs (4,023 meters), with eleven hurdles to be jumped. The race is intended for beginner hurdlers and is held yearly during the Grand National meeting in early April.

In 1988, the race’s length was reduced by one furlong to its current length. Mumm supported it for a while and was accorded Grade Two status in 1991. Since 1992, it has had many sponsors, the most recent of which, Betway, began financing the tournament in 2017. The British Horseracing Authority promoted the Mersey Novices’ Hurdle to Grade One in 2014. The Mersey Novices’ Hurdle frequently involves horses who have already won the Ballymore Novices’ Hurdle, and Yorkhill was the last horse to win both events in 2016.

Mersey Novices’ Hurdle Winner List 1977-2022

1977Samuel Pepys6John BurkeFred Rimell
1978Raleighstown7Tommy KinaneChristy Kinane
1979Taffy4Tommy CarmodyPeter Bailey
1980Wayward Lad5Tommy CarmodyTony Dickinson
1981Hareshaw6Tommy CarmodyMichael Dickinson
1982Gallaher6Bill SmithFulke Walwyn
1983Ballinacurra Lad8Pat LeechJohn Crowley
1984Lochboisdale4Steve Smith EcclesJeff King
1985Out of the Gloom4Jonjo O’NeillReg Hollinshead
1986Canute Express5Lorcan Wyer[a]Homer Scott
1987The West Awake6Simon SherwoodOliver Sherwood
1988Sir Blake7Brendan PowellDavid Elsworth
1989Morley Street5Jimmy FrostToby Balding
1990Vazon Bay6Mark PitmanJenny Pitman
1991Shannon Glen5Michael BowlbyJenny Pitman
1992Coulton5Graham McCourtMick Easterby
1993Lemon’s Mill4Peter ScudamoreMartin Pipe
1994Cyborgo4Richard DunwoodyMartin Pipe
1995Tervel4Charlie SwanJeff Pearce
1996Silver Shred5Jonothan LowerMartin Pipe
1997Sanmartino5Richard DunwoodyDavid Nicholson
1998Promalee6Charlie SwanAidan O’Brien
1999Barton6Lorcan WyerTim Easterby
2000Best Mate5Jim CullotyHenrietta Knight
2001Montalcino5Brian CrowleyVenetia Williams
2002Classified6Tony McCoyMartin Pipe
2003Leinster6Kieran KellyDessie Hughes
2004Garde Champetre5Ruby WalshPaul Nicholls
2005Turpin Green6Tony DobbinNicky Richards
2006Natal5Ruby WalshPaul Nicholls
2007Tidal Bay6Paddy BrennanHoward Johnson
2008Elusive Dream7Ruby WalshPaul Nicholls
2009Bouggler4Noel FehilyEmma Lavelle
2010Peddlers Cross5Jason MaguireDonald McCain, Jr.
2011Spirit Son5Barry GeraghtyNicky Henderson
2012Simonsig6Barry GeraghtyNicky Henderson
2013Ubak5Jamie MooreGary Moore
2014Lac Fontana5Tony McCoyPaul Nicholls
2015Nichols Canyon5Ruby WalshWillie Mullins
2016Yorkhill6Paul TownendWillie Mullins
2017Finian’s Oscar5Robbie PowerColin Tizzard
2018Black Op7Noel FehilyTom George
2019Reserve Tank5Robbie PowerColin Tizzard
2021My Drogo6Harry SkeltonDan Skelton
2022Three Stripe Life6Davy RussellGordon Elliott

What is the total Distance to be covered in Mersey Novices’ Hurdle?

2 miles and 4 furlongs (4,023 meters)

What is the Surface of Mersey Novices’ Hurdle?


What is the Minimum Age Requirement for Mersey Novices’ Hurdle 2023?

Four years old and up.

What Channel is Mersey Novices’ Hurdle 2023 on?

Mersey Novices’ Hurdle 2023 will be broadcasted on iTV1 and Racing TV. Besides this you can approach various online streaming media services to watch the race live.

When is Mersey Novices’ Hurdle 2023?

Mersey Novices’ Hurdle 2023 is scheduled to happen on the day 3 of Grand National 2023 which is 15th April, 2023.

What Time will Mersey Novices’ Hurdle 2023 Begin?

Mersey Novices’ Hurdle 2023 will begin at 2:25 UK time.

Where will be Mersey Novices’ Hurdle 2023?

Mersey Novices’ Hurdle is to be happen on the Aintree Racecourse.

Leave a Comment