Melling Chase 2023 | Grand National Festival

The Melling Chase, presently known as the Marsh Chase for sponsorship purposes, is a Grade 1 National Hunt steeplechase in Great Britain accessible to horses aged five and above. It is run at Aintree over a distance of about 2 miles and 4 furlongs (4,023 meters), with sixteen obstacles to be jumped. Every year in early April, the race is scheduled to take place.

The race is named after Melling, a small community made famous by Melling Road, a public road that runs through the racecourse. It was founded in 1991 and has maintained Grade 1 classification throughout its history. The race is now taking place on the second of three days of the Grand National meeting.

The field frequently includes horses that competed in the Queen Mother Champion Chase or the Ryanair Chase at the Cheltenham Festival the previous month.

Melling Chase Winner List 1991-2022

1991Blazing Walker7Chris GrantArthur Stephenson
1992Remittance Man8Richard DunwoodyNicky Henderson
1993Deep Sensation8Declan MurphyJosh Gifford
1994Katabatic11Simon McNeillJosh Gifford
1995Viking Flagship8Adrian MaguireDavid Nicholson
1996Viking Flagship9Tony McCoyDavid Nicholson
1997Martha’s Son10Carl LlewellynTim Forster
1998Opera Hat10Conor O’DwyerJohn Fowler
1999Direct Route8Norman WilliamsonHoward Johnson
2000Direct Route9Norman WilliamsonHoward Johnson
2001Fadalko8Ruby WalshPaul Nicholls
2002Native Upmanship9Conor O’DwyerArthur Moore
2003Native Upmanship10Conor O’DwyerArthur Moore
2004Moscow Flyer10Barry GeraghtyJessica Harrington
2005Moscow Flyer11Barry GeraghtyJessica Harrington
2006Hi Cloy9Andrew McNamaraMichael Hourigan
2007Monet’s Garden9Tony DobbinNicky Richards
2008Voy Por Ustedes7Robert ThorntonAlan King
2009Voy Por Ustedes8Robert ThorntonAlan King
2010Albertas Run9Tony McCoyJonjo O’Neill
2011Master Minded8Ruby WalshPaul Nicholls
2012Finian’s Rainbow9Barry GeraghtyNicky Henderson
2013Sprinter Sacre7Barry GeraghtyNicky Henderson
2014Boston Bob9Paul TownendWillie Mullins
2015Don Cossack8Tony McCoyGordon Elliott
2016God’s Own8Paddy BrennanTom George
2017Fox Norton7Robbie PowerColin Tizzard
2018Politologue7Sam Twiston-DaviesPaul Nicholls
2019Min8Ruby WalshWillie Mullins
2021Fakir D’oudairies6Mark WalshJoseph O’Brien
2022Fakir D’oudairies7Mark WalshJoseph O’Brien

What is the total Distance to be covered in Melling Chase?

2m 4f (4,023 meters)

What is the Surface of Melling Chase?


What is the Minimum Age Requirement for Melling Chase 2023?

Five years old and up.

What Channel is Melling Chase 2023 on?

Melling Chase 2023 will be broadcasted on iTV1 and Racing TV. Besides this, you can approach various online streaming media services to watch the race live.

When is Melling Chase 2023?

Melling Chase 2023 is scheduled to happen on day 2 of Grand National 2023, 14th April 2023.

What Time will Melling Chase 2023 Begin?

Melling Chase 2023 will begin at 3:25 UK time.

Where will be Melling Chase 2023?

Melling Chase is to happen on the Aintree Racecourse.

What is the Purse for Melling Chase 2023?

The purse for Melling Chase 2023 is expected to be somewhat near £300,000. In 2022, the winner took £140,325 from the total prize pool of £250,000.

Who is the Successful Jockey in Melling Chase History?

With 4 wins, Barry Geraghty – Moscow Flyer (2004, 2005), Finian’s Rainbow (2012), Sprinter Sacre (2013)  is the most successful Jockey.

Who is the leading trainer in Melling Chase History?

With 3 wins;

  • Nicky Henderson -Remittance Man (1992), Finian’s Rainbow (2012), Sprinter Sacre (2013)
  • Paul Nicholls – Fadalko (2001), Master Minded (2011), Politologue (2018)

are most successful trainers.

Leave a Comment