Maghull Novices’ Chase 2023 | Grand National Festival

The Maghull Novices’ Chase is a Grade 1 National Hunt steeplechase in the United Kingdom available to horses aged five and up. It is run over a distance of around 2 miles (1 mile 7 furlong and 176 yards, or 3,178 meters) at Aintree, with twelve obstacles to be jumped. The event is intended for beginner chasers and is held each year during the Grand National meeting in early April.

The tournament began in 1954 and has gone under several names since then. It is now called after Maghull, a town to the north of Aintree. The race was graded as Grade 2 for a while until being elevated to Grade 1 classification in 1995.

The Maghull Novices’ Chase normally comprises horses that have already competed in the Arkle Challenge Trophy, and Shishkin was the last horse to win both competitions in 2021.

Maghull Novices’ Chase Winner List 1954-2022

1954Evian6E McKenzieVincent O’Brien
1955Wise Child7G MilburnC Bewicke
1956Sir Ken9T MolonyW Stephenson
1957Northern King6M PumfreyE Cousins
1958Just Awake6A FreemanPeter Cazalet
1959Liquidator7P FarrellW Hall
1960Cupid’s Charge5A FreemanPeter Cazalet
1961Peacetown7Stan MellorG Owen
1962Rye Light10Paddy FarrellW Hall
1963Border Sparkle7T McGinleyN Robinson
1964Brand X9R EdwardsFrank Cundell
1965Oedipe7Stan MellorPeter Cazalet
1966Roe Gemmel7G Macmillan[a]R Fairbairn
1967Glenn6Terry BiddlecombeFred Rimell
1968Brian’s Best8R EdwardsG Owen
1969Rainbow Cottage6T S MurphyArthur Stephenson
1970Tenterclef8Barry BroganP Ransom
1971Vegeo8David NicholsonArthur Stephenson
1972Explicit8Tommy StackL Shedden
1973Line Regiment9J BourkeW D Francis
1974Winter Rain6Michael DickinsonTony Dickinson
1975Tom Morgan6Colin TinklerKen Oliver
1976Vaguely Attractive7John Fowler[a]S Murphy
1977Siberian Sun6Frank BerryFrancis Flood
1978Another Dolly8John BurkeFred Rimell
1979Night Nurse8Jonjo O’NeillPeter Easterby
1980Western Rose8Sam MorsheadFred Rimell
1981Irian7Frank BerryArthur Moore
1982Brave Fellow8Tony CharltonJimmy FitzGerald
1983Ryeman6Alan BrownPeter Easterby
1984Noddy’s Ryde7Neale DoughtyGordon W. Richards
1985Pan Arctic6Philip HobbsTom Bill
1986Pearlyman7Paul BartonJohn Edwards
1987Dan the Miller8Graham BradleyMonica Dickinson
1988Jim Thorpe7Chris GrantGordon W. Richards
1989Feroda8Tom TaaffeArthur Moore
1990Boutzdaroff8Derek ByrneJimmy FitzGerald
1991Young Benz7Lorcan WyerPeter Easterby
1992Cyphrate6Peter ScudamoreMartin Pipe
1993Valiant Boy7Russ GarrittySteve Kettlewell
1994Nakir6Jamie OsborneSimon Christian
1995Morceli7Norman WilliamsonHoward Johnson
1996Ask Tom7Peter NivenTom Tate
1997Squire Silk8Jamie OsborneAndrew Turnell
1998Direct Route7Paul CarberryHoward Johnson
1999Flagship Uberalles5Joe TizzardPaul Nicholls
2000Cenkos6David CaseyOliver Sherwood
2001Ballinclay King7Adrian MaguireFerdy Murphy
2002Armaturk5Timmy MurphyPaul Nicholls
2003Le Roi Miguel5Ruby WalshPaul Nicholls
2004Well Chief5Tony McCoyMartin Pipe
2005Ashley Brook7Paddy BrennanKevin Bishop
2006Foreman8Tony McCoyThierry Doumen
2007Twist Magic5Ruby WalshPaul Nicholls
2008Tidal Bay7Denis O’ReganHoward Johnson
2009Kalahari King8Graham LeeFerdy Murphy
2010Tataniano6Ruby WalshPaul Nicholls
2011Finian’s Rainbow8Barry GeraghtyNicky Henderson
2012Sprinter Sacre6Barry GeraghtyNicky Henderson
2013Special Tiara6Bryan CooperHenry de Bromhead
2014Balder Succes6Wayne HutchinsonAlan King
2015Sizing Granite7Jonathan BurkeHenry de Bromhead
2016Douvan6Paul TownendWillie Mullins
2017San Benedeto6Nick ScholfieldPaul Nicholls
2018Diego Du Charmil6Harry CobdenPaul Nicholls
2019Ornua8Davy RussellHenry de Bromhead
2021Shishkin7Nico de BoinvilleNicky Henderson
2022Gentleman De Mee6Mark WalshWillie Mullins

What is the total Distance to be covered in Maghull Novices’ Chase?

1m 7f 176y miles (3,178 meters)

What is the Surface of Maghull Novices’ Chase?


What is the Minimum Age Requirement for Maghull Novices’ Chase 2023?

Five-years-old and up.

What Channel is Maghull Novices’ Chase 2023 on?

Maghull Novices’ Chase 2023 will be broadcasted on iTV1 and Racing TV. Besides this you can approach various online streaming media services to watch the race live.

When is Maghull Novices’ Chase 2023?

Maghull Novices’ Chase 2023 is scheduled to happen on day 3 of Grand National 2023 which is 15th April, 2023.

What Time will Maghull Novices’ Chase 2023 Begin?

Maghull Novices’ Chase 2023 will begin at 3:00 UK time.

Where will be Maghull Novices’ Chase 2023?

Maghull Novices’ Chase is to be happen on the Aintree Racecourse.

What is the Prize Money for Maghull Novices’ Chase 2023?

In 2022, the prize money was set to be £120,000, while the winner took home £67,524. This year the prize money is expected to be somewhat between £150,000.

Who is the leading Jockey in the history of Maghull Novices’ Chase?

With 3 wins, Ruby Walsh – Le Roi Miguel (2003), Twist Magic (2007), Tataniano (2010), is on top.

Who is the leading trainer in the history of Maghull Novices’ Chase?

With 8 wins, Paul Nicholls – Flagship Uberalles (1999), Armaturk (2002), Le Roi Miguel (2003), Twist Magic (2007), Tataniano (2010), San Benedeto (2017), Diego Du Charmil (2018) is the top trainer in the history of Maghull Novices’ Chase.

Leave a Comment