Liverpool Hurdle 2023 | Grand National Festival

The Liverpool Hurdle is a Grade 1 National Hunt hurdle competition held in Great Britain for horses aged four and over. It is run over a distance of about 3 miles and 12 furlongs (3 miles and 149 yards, or 4,964 meters) at Aintree, with thirteen hurdles to be leapt. The event is held each year during the Grand National meeting in early April.

The tournament was founded in 1974 and was first held at Ascot. It was originally completed over 3 miles and was known as the Long Distance Hurdle for most of its existence. It was classified as Grade 2 for a time.

The event was moved to Aintree in 2004 and has been called after the adjacent city of Liverpool ever since. Its initial length has been increased by 110 yards.

The Liverpool Hurdle was upgraded to Grade 1 status in 2010 and is now held on the last day of the three-day Grand National meeting. Prior to 2013, it was the first race of the meeting on the first day. The competition frequently includes horses that have already competed in the Stayers’ Hurdle, and Thistlecrack was the last horse to win both events in the same year in 2016.

Liverpool Hurdle Winner List 1974-2022

1974Moyne Royal9Jeff KingArthur Pitt
1975Lanzarote7Richard PitmanFred Winter
1976Good Prospect7Andrew TurnellJohn Edwards
1977Mark Henry6Tommy StackBill Elsey
1978Flame Gun6Niall Madden[a]Edward O’Grady
1979Prominent King7Jonjo O’NeillPeter Easterby
1980Derring Rose5Andrew TurnellAlan Jarvis
1981Shell Burst6Hywel DaviesLes Kennard
1982Gaye Chance7Peter ScudamoreMercy Rimell
1983Sandalay5Paul CharltonPeter Cundell
1984Alastor O Mavros5Hywel DaviesJosh Gifford
1985Bajan Sunshine6Peter ScudamoreMartin Tate
1986Gaye Brief9Peter ScudamoreMercy Rimell
1987Mrs Muck6Peter ScudamoreNigel Twiston-Davies
1988Gaye Brief11Dermot BrowneMercy Rimell
1990Battalion6Ben de HaanCharlie Brooks
1991Mole Board9Jamie OsborneJim Old
1992Pragada9Peter ScudamoreMartin Pipe
1993Sweet Duke6Carl LlewellynNigel Twiston-Davies
1994Sweet Glow7Richard DunwoodyMartin Pipe
1995Cab on Target9Peter NivenMary Reveley
1996Pleasure Shared8Warren MarstonPhilip Hobbs
1997Trainglot10Richard DunwoodyJimmy FitzGerald
1998Marello7Peter NivenMary Reveley
1999Galant Moss5Tony McCoyMartin Pipe
2000Teaatral6Dean GallagherCharles Egerton
2001Maid Equal10Tom Scudamore[a]Martin Pipe
2002Spendid10Warren MarstonAlan King
2003Deano’s Beeno11Tony McCoyMartin Pipe
2004Iris’s Gift7Barry GeraghtyJonjo O’Neill
2005Monet’s Garden7Tony DobbinNicky Richards
2006Mighty Man6Richard JohnsonHenry Daly
2007Mighty Man7Richard JohnsonHenry Daly
2008Blazing Bailey6Robert ThorntonAlan King
2009Big Buck’s6Ruby WalshPaul Nicholls
2010Big Buck’s7Ruby WalshPaul Nicholls
2011Big Buck’s8Ruby WalshPaul Nicholls
2012Big Buck’s9Ruby WalshPaul Nicholls
2013Solwhit9Paul CarberryCharles Byrnes
2014Whisper6Barry GeraghtyNicky Henderson
2015Whisper7Nico de BoinvilleNicky Henderson
2016Thistlecrack8Tom ScudamoreColin Tizzard
2017Yanworth7Barry GeraghtyAlan King
2018Identity Thief8Sean FlanaganHenry de Bromhead
2019If The Cap Fits7Sean BowenHarry Fry
2021Thyme Hill7Tom O’BrienPhilip Hobbs
2022Sire Du Berlais10Mark WalshGordon Elliott

What is the total Distance to be covered in Liverpool Hurdle?

3m 149y (4,964 meters)

What is the Surface of Liverpool Hurdle?


What is the Minimum Age Requirement for Liverpool Hurdle 2023?

Four-years-old and up.

What Channel is Liverpool Hurdle 2023 on?

Liverpool Hurdle 2023 will be broadcasted on iTV1 and Racing TV. Besides this you can approach various online streaming media services to watch the race live.

When is Liverpool Hurdle 2023?

Liverpool Hurdle 2023 is scheduled to be happen on the day 3 of Grand National 2023 which is 15th April, 2023.

What Time will Liverpool Hurdle 2023 Begin?

Liverpool Hurdle 2023 will begin at 3:35 UK time.

Where will be Liverpool Hurdle 2023?

Liverpool Hurdle is to be happen on the Aintree Racecourse.

What is the Prize Money for Liverpool Hurdle 2023?

In 2022, the prize money was set to be £250,000 while the winner took home £140,325. This year the prize money is expected to be somewhat between £300,000.

Who has been the most successful horse in the history of Liverpool Hurdle?

With 4 wins, Big Buck’s – 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 is the best horse in the history of Liverpool Hurdle.

Who has been the most successful Jockey in the history of Liverpool Hurdle?

With 5 wins, Peter Scudamore – Gaye Chance (1982), Bajan Sunshine (1985), Gaye Brief (1986), Mrs Muck (1987), Pragada (1992), is the leading Jockey in the history of Liverpool Hurdle.

Who has been the leading Trainer in the history of Liverpool Hurdle?

With 5 wins, Martin Pipe – Pragada (1992), Sweet Glow (1994), Galant Moss (1999), Maid Equal (2001), Deano’s Beeno (2003) is the leading trainer in the history of Liverpool Hurdle.

Leave a Comment