Grand National 2023 | Grand National Festival

The Grand National is a horse race conducted each year at Aintree Racecourse in Liverpool, England. It is a handicap steeplechase over an official distance of around 4 miles and 212 furlongs (4 miles 514 yards (6.907 km)), with horses leaping 30 obstacles over two loops. It first raced in 1839. With a prize pool of £1 million in 2017, it is Europe’s most lucrative jump race. The race is a popular event in British culture, attracting many individuals who do not ordinarily watch or wager on horse racing at other times of the year.

The race course incorporates substantially bigger fences than those used on traditional National Hunt grounds. Many of these obstacles, especially Becher’s Brook, The Chair, and the Canal Turn, have become legendary in their own right and, combined with the distance of the event, produce what has been dubbed “the ultimate test of horse and rider”.

Since 1960, the Grand National has been shown live on free-to-air terrestrial television in the United Kingdom. The BBC showed it from then till 2012. Channel 4 televised the event from 2013 to 2016, after which the UK broadcasting rights were transferred to ITV. In approximately 140 countries, an estimated 500 to 600 million people watch the Grand National. Since 1927, the race has also been aired on the radio; BBC Radio had exclusive rights until 2013. Talksport purchased radio commentary rights in 2014, and both the BBC and Talksport now broadcast the race in its entirety.

Grand National Winner List 2012-2022

2022Noble Yeats7Sam Waley-CohenEmmet MullinsRobert Waley-Cohen
2021Minella Times8Rachael BlackmoreHenry de BromheadJ. P. McManus
2019Tiger Roll9Davy RussellGordon ElliottGigginstown House Stud
2018Tiger Roll[75]8Davy RussellGordon ElliottGigginstown House Stud
2017One For Arthur[76]8Derek FoxLucinda RussellTwo Golf Widows
2016Rule The World[77]9David MullinsMouse MorrisGigginstown House Stud
2015Many Clouds[78]8Leighton AspellOliver SherwoodTrevor Hemmings
2014Pineau de Re[79]11Leighton AspellRichard NewlandJohn Proven
2013Auroras Encore[80]11Ryan ManiaSue SmithDouglas Pryde, Jim Beaumont & David P van der Hoeven
2012Neptune Collonges[81]11Daryl JacobPaul NichollsJohn Hales

What is the total distance to be covered in Grand National?

4 miles 514 yards (6.907 km)

What is the Surface of Grand National?


What is the Minimum Age Requirement for Grand National 2023?

Seven years old and up.

What Channel is Grand National 2023 on?

Grand National 2023 will be broadcasted on iTV1 and Racing TV. Besides this you can approach various online streaming media services to watch the race live.

When is Grand National 2023?

Grand National 2023 is scheduled to happen on day 3 of Grand National 2023 which is 15th April, 2023.

What time will Grand National 2023 Begin?

Grand National 2023 will begin at 5:15 UK time.

Where will be Grand National 2023?

Grand National is to be happen on the Aintree Racecourse.

What is the Prize Money for Grand National 2023?

In 2022, the prize money was set to be £1,000,000 while the winner took home £500,000. This year the prize money is expected to be somewhat between £1,500,000.

Who has been the most successful horse in the history of Grand National?

With 3 wins, Red Rum (1973, 1974, 1977), is the leading horse in the history of Grand National.

Who has been the most successful Jockey in the history of Grand National?

With 5 wins, George Stevens (Freetrader, 1856; Emblem 1863; Emblematic, 1864; The Colonel, 1869, 1870) is the leading Jockey in the history of Grand National.

Who are the leading trainers in the history of Grand National?

Here is the list of leading trainers in the history of Grand National:

  • George Dockeray (4 wins) Lottery, 1839; Jerry, 1840; Gaylad, 1842; Miss Mowbray, 1852
  • Fred Rimell (4 wins) E.S.B., 1956; Nicolaus Silver, 1961; Gay Trip, 1970; Rag Trade, 1976
  • Ginger McCain (4 wins) Red Rum, 1973, 1974, 1977; Amberleigh House, 2004

Who is the fastest winner in Grand National?

Mr Frisk (1990) is the fastest winner in the history of Grand National. He finished the race in a sum of 8:47.80.

What is the slowest winning time in Grand National?

Lottery (1839) with 14:53 is the slowest winner ever in the History of Grand National.

Who is the oldest winning horse in the history of the Grand National?

In 1853, Peter Simple won at the age of 15.

Who is the youngest winner in the history of Grand National?

To date, 5 horses have won it in the age of 5. Alcibiade (1865), Regal (1876), Austerlitz (1877), Empress (1880), Lutteur III (1909); all aged five.

Who is the oldest winning Jockey in Grand National history?

Dick Saunders 1982 won the Grand National at the age of 48.

Who is the youngest winning jockey in the history of Grand National?

Bruce Hobbs, in 1938, the youngest winning Jockey who managed to win it at the age of 17.

Other Notable Grand National Records

  1. Most rides without winning: 21 (Richard Johnson, 1997-2019)
  2. Largest field: 66 runners (1929)
  3. Fewest horses to finish: 2 (1928)
  4. Most rides in the race: 21 (Richard Johnson, 1997-2019)
  5. Smallest field: 10 runners (1883)
  6. Most horses to finish: 23 (1984)
  7. Shortest odds winner: Poethlyn (1919); 11/4

Leave a Comment