Foxhunters’ Open Hunters’ Chase 2023 | Grand National Festival

The Foxhunters’ Open Hunters’ Chase is a National Hunt steeplechase held in the United Kingdom for amateur riders and horses aged six and up. It is held each year in April at Aintree over a distance of around 2 miles and 5 furlongs (2 miles, 5 furlongs, and 19 yards, or 4,242 meters).

The Foxhunters’ is one of only three events at the Aintree Festival run over the Grand National obstacles, the other two being the Topham Chase and the Grand National itself. Randox Laboratories is the race’s current sponsor.

Originally, the event was run over the entire Grand National distance.

Foxhunters’ Open Hunters’ Chase Winner List 1947-2022

1947Lucky Purchase9J NicholsS Banks
1948San Michele8G CunardG Cunard
1949Ballyhartfield10J StrakerJ Makin
1950Hillmere17P BrookshawL Dalton
1951Candy II9R BrewisR Brewis
1952Pampeenne II9H AlexanderH Alexander
1953Solo Call9M BrewisM Brewis
1954Dark Stranger9J BosleyL Colville
1955Happymint10A MoraleeJ Wight
1956Mr Shanks9J EverittJ Keith
1957Colledge Master7Laurie MorganLaurie Morgan
1958Surprise Packet9T JohnsonMrs S Richards
1959Merryman II8C ScottNeville Crump
1960April Queen9J DaniellM Fear
1961Colledge Master11Laurie MorganLaurie Morgan
1962Dominion10C FoulkesK Beeston
1963Sea Knight8P NicholsonArthur Stephenson
1964Aerial III8J DaniellRoddy Armytage
1965Sea Knight10P NicholsonArthur Stephenson
1966Sulbaltern12John LawrenceC Alexander
1967Minto Burn11B SurteesMiss B Johnson
1968Juan12P WillsP Wills
1969Bitter Lemon8V RoweV Rowe
1970Lismateige7A WatesP Wates
1971Bright Willow10R ChuggG Cure
1972Credit Call8C CollinsArthur Stephenson
1973Bullock’s Horn10Lord OakseyBob Turnell
1974Lord Fortune11D EdmundsMrs J Brutton
1975Credit Call11J NewtonArthur Stephenson
1976Credit Call12J NewtonMrs R Newton
1977Happy Warrior10Nicky HendersonFred Winter
1978Spartan Missile6John ThorneJohn Thorne
1979Spartan Missile7John ThorneJohn Thorne
1980Rolls Rambler9Oliver SherwoodFred Winter
1981Grittar8Dick SaundersFrank Gilman
1982Lone Soldier10Peter GreenallJ Docker
1983Atha Cliath8Willie MullinsPaddy Mullins
1984Gayle Warning10A DudgeonJ Dudgeon
1985City Boy10Tim Thomson JonesMrs J Mann
1986Eliogarty11Caroline BeasleyDavid Murray Smith
1987Border Burg10A HillJames Delahooke
1988Newnham11Simon AndrewsMichael A Johnson
1989Call Collect8Raymund MartinRaymund S Martin
1990Lean Ar Aghaidh13D GrayStan Mellor
1991Double Turn10P Harding-JonesJohn Jenkins
1992Gee-A13Paul MurphyGeoff Hubbard
1993Double Silk9Ron TreloggenReg Wilkins
1994Killeshin8G BrownJohn Manners
1995Sheer Jest10A HillW J Warner
1996Rolling Ball13Richard FordSteve Brookshaw
1997Blue Cheek11Robert ThorntonJ Mahon
1998Cavalero9A Charles-JonesJohn Manners
1999Elegant Lord11Philip FentonEnda Bolger
2000Bells Life11David O’MearaPhilip Hobbs
2001Gunner Welburn9J M PritchardCaroline Bailey
2002Torduff Express11Polly GundryPaul Nicholls
2003Divet Hill9Dale JewettAnn Hamilton
2004Forest Gunner10Carrie FordRichard Ford
2005Katarino10Sam Waley-CohenRobert Waley-Cohen
2006Katarino11Sam Waley-CohenRobert Waley-Cohen
2007Scots Grey12Richard BurtonNicky Henderson
2008Christy Beamish11Joshua GuerrieroPaul Jones
2009Trust Fund11T GreenallRichard Barber
2010Silver Adonis9T WestonRichard Newland
2011Baby Run11Willie Twiston-DaviesNigel Twiston-Davies
2012Cloudy Lane12Richard HardingDonald McCain
2013Tartan Snow13Jamie HamiltonStuart Coltherd
2014Warne10Sam Waley-CohenBrian Hamilton
2015On The Fringe10Nina CarberryEnda Bolger
2016On The Fringe11Jamie CoddEnda Bolger
2017Dineur11James KingMickey Bowen
2018Balnaslow11Derek O’ConnorGraham John McKeever
2019Top Wood12Tabitha WorsleyKelly Morgan
2021Cousin Pascal9James KingJoe O’Shea
2022Latenightpass9Gina AndrewsTom Ellis

What is the total Distance to be covered in Foxhunters’ Open Hunters’ Chase?

2 miles, 5 furlongs, and 19 yards.

What is the Surface of Foxhunters’ Open Hunters’ Chase?


What is the Minimum Age Requirement for Foxhunters’ Open Hunters’ Chase 2023?

Six years old and up.

What Channel is Foxhunters’ Open Hunters’ Chase 2023 on?

Foxhunters’ Open Hunters’ Chase 2023 will be broadcasted on iTV1 and Racing TV. Besides this, you can approach various online streaming media services to watch the race live.

When is Foxhunters’ Open Hunters’ Chase 2023?

Foxhunters’ Open Hunters’ Chase 2023 is scheduled to happen on day 1 of Grand National 2023 which is 13th April, 2023.

What Time will Foxhunters’ Open Hunters’ Chase 2023 Begin?

Foxhunters’ Open Hunters’ Chase 2023 will begin at 4:05 UK time.

Where will be Foxhunters’ Open Hunters’ Chase 2023?

Foxhunters’ Open Hunters’ Chase is to happen on the Aintree Racecourse.

What is the Purse for Foxhunters’ Open Hunters’ Chase 2023?

The purse for Foxhunters’ Open Hunters’ Chase 2023 is expected to be somewhat near £100,000. In 2022, the total prize pool was of £50,000 guaranteed.

Who is the most successful Jockey in Foxhunters’ Open Hunters’ Chase History?

With 3-wins Sam Waley-Cohen – Katarino (2005, 2006), Warne (2014)

Who is the leading trainer in Foxhunters’ Open Hunters’ Chase History?

With 4-wins Arthur Stephenson – Sea Knight (1963, 1965), Credit Call (1972, 1975)

Leave a Comment