The Coral Cup Hurdle 2023 | Cheltenham Festival

The Coral Cup is a Grade 3 National Hunt hurdle event held in the United Kingdom for horses aged four and higher. It is raced over a distance of around 2 miles and 5 furlongs (4,225 meters) on the Old Course at Cheltenham. There are ten hurdles to be leapt throughout the race. It’s a handicap race scheduled every year in March at the Cheltenham Festival.

Coral has sponsored the event since its inception in 1993. Olympian, the first champion, received an additional reward of £50,000 for winning the Imperial Cup the weekend before. In 1999, the race was upgraded to Grade 3. The Coral Cup was postponed and raced on Cheltenham’s New Course due to severe winds on the day of the intended racing in 2008. The rescheduled event was 2 miles and 412 furlongs in length.

Coral Cup Hurdle Winner List 1993-2022

1993Olympian6Peter ScudamoreMartin Pipe
1994Time for a Run7Charlie SwanEdward O'Grady
1995Chance Coffey10Gerry O'NeillPat O'Donnell
1996Trainglot9Mark DwyerJimmy FitzGerald
1997Big Strand8Jamie EvansMartin Pipe
1998Top Cees8Barry FentonLynda Ramsden
1999Khayrawani7Fran BerryChristy Roche
2000What's Up Boys6Paul Flynn[a]Philip Hobbs
2002Ilnamar6Rodi GreeneMartin Pipe
2003Xenophon7Mick FitzgeraldTony Martin
2004Monkerhostin7Richard JohnsonPhilip Hobbs
2005Idole First6Alan O'KeeffeVenetia Williams
2006Sky's the Limit5Barry GeraghtyEdward O'Grady
2007Burntoakboy9Sam JonesRichard Newland
2008Naiad du Misselot7Davy RussellFerdy Murphy
2009Ninetieth Minute6Paddy FloodTom Taaffe
2010Spirit River5Barry GeraghtyNicky Henderson
2011Carlito Brigante5Davy RussellGordon Elliott
2012Son of Flicka8Jason MaguireDonald McCain
2013Medinas6Wayne HutchinsonAlan King
2014Whisper6Nico de BoinvilleNicky Henderson
2015Aux Ptits Soins5Sam Twiston-DaviesPaul Nicholls
2016Diamond King8Davy RussellGordon Elliott
2017Supasundae7Robbie PowerJessica Harrington
2018Bleu Berry7Mark WalshWillie Mullins
2019William Henry9Nico de BoinvilleNicky Henderson
2020Dame De Compagnie7Barry GeraghtyNicky Henderson
2021Heaven Help Us7Richard CondonPaul Hennessy
2022Commander Of Fleet7Shane FitzgeraldGordon Elliott

What is the total distance to be covered in the Coral Cup Hurdle?

2m 5f (4,225 meters)

What is the surface of the Coral Cup Hurdle?

The race will be on Turf Surface.

What is the minimum age requirement for Coral Cup Hurdle 2023?

The age of the runner must be more than four years.

What channel is the Coral Cup Hurdle 2023 on?

Coral Cup Hurdle 2023 will be broadcasted on iTV1 and Racing TV. Besides this, you can approach various online streaming media services to watch the race live.

When is the Coral Cup Hurdle 2023?

The Coral Cup Hurdle 2023 is scheduled to happen on day two of Cheltenham Festival 2022 which is 15th March 2023.

What time will the Coral Cup Hurdle 2023 Begin?

The Coral Cup Hurdle 2023 will begin at 14:50 UK time.

Where will be the Coral Cup Hurdle 2023?

The Coral Cup Hurdle is to happen on the Old Course at Cheltenham.

What is the purse for Coral Cup Hurdle 2023?

The purse for the Coral Cup Hurdle 2023 is expected to be somewhat near £200,000. The winner took home £42,203 from the total prize pool of £75,000.

What are the most successful Horses for Coral Cup Hurdle?

It can’t be decided as no horse has won more than a single race in this event.

Who is the successful Jockey in Coral Cup Hurdle History?

Here is the lust of the successful jockey who has won 3 wins in the Coral Cup:

  • Davy Russell: Naiad de Misselot (2008), Carlito Brigante (2011), Diamond King (2016)
  • Barry Geraghty: Sky’s The Limit (2006), Spirit River (2010), Dame De Compagnie (2020)

Who is the leading trainer in Coral Cup Hurdle History?

Nicky Henderson with Spirit River (2010), Whisper (2014), William Henry (2019), and Dame De Compagnie (2020) is the leading trainer in Coral Cup Hurdle History.

Who won the Coral Cup Hurdle?

Commander of Fleet won the Coral Cup Hurdle of 2022.

Leave a Comment