The Unibet Champion Hurdle Challenge Trophy 2023 | Cheltenham Festival

The Champion Hurdle is a Grade 1 National Hunt hurdle race held in the United Kingdom for horses aged four and above. It is raced over a distance of around 2 miles and 12 furlongs (2 miles and 87 yards, or 3,298 meters) on the Old Course at Cheltenham, and there are eight hurdles to have leaped throughout the race. The race is the last leg of the Triple Crown of Hurdling and is held on the first day of the Cheltenham Festival each year in March. Check out the Complete Day One Schedule.

The Champion Hurdle is the most prestigious hurdling event on the National Hunt calendar, as its name indicates. National Spirit, Istabraq, Hatton’s Grace, Persian War, and Lanzarote are among the most renowned hurdlers in the sport’s history, and some of them have races named after them.

Champion Hurdle Winner List 2012-2022

2022Honeysuckle 8Henry De BromheadHenry De Bromhead
2021 Honeysuckle 7Henry De Bromhead Rachael Blackmore 
2020 Epatante 6Nicky Henderson Barry Geraghty 
2019 Espoir D'Allen 5Gavin Cromwell Mark Walsh 
2018 Buveur D'Air 7Nicky Henderson Barry Geraghty 
2017 Buveur D'Air 6Nicky Henderson Noel Fehily 
2016 Annie Power 8W P Mullins R Walsh 
2015 Faugheen 7W P Mullins R Walsh 
2014 Jezki 6Mrs John Harrington Barry Geraghty 
2013 Hurricane Fly 9W P Mullins R Walsh 
2012 Rock On Ruby 7Paul Nicholls Noel Fehily 

What is the total distance to be covered in the Champion Hurdle?

2m 87y (3,298 meters)

What is the surface of the Champion Hurdle?

The race will be on Turf Surface.

What is the minimum age requirement for Champion Hurdle 2023?

The age of the runner must be more than 4 years.

What channel is the Champion Hurdle 2023 on?

Champion Hurdle 2023 will be broadcasted on iTV1 and Racing TV. Besides this, you can approach various online streaming media services to watch the race live.

When is the Unibet Champion Hurdle 2023?

The Unibet Champion Hurdle 2023 is scheduled to happen on day one of Cheltenham Festival 2023 which is 14th March 2023.

What time will the Unibet Champion Hurdle 2023 Begin?

The Unibet Champion Hurdle 2023 will begin at 15:30 UK time.

Where will be the Unibet Champion Hurdle 2023?

The Unibet Champion Hurdle is to happen on the Old Course at Cheltenham.

What is the purse for Unibet Champion Hurdle 2023?

The purse for the Unibet Champion Hurdle 2023 is expected to be somewhat near £400,000. In 2021, Honeysuckle, the winner, took home £189,911 from the total prize pool of £337,500.

Who finishes Champion Hurdle in the shortest Time?

Annie Power holds the record of finishing the championship hurdle in 3.45.10. She broke all records of the quickest finish on 15 March 2016.

How many horses run for the Champion Hurdle in 2023?

There will be a total of 10 runners approximately in the Champion Hurdle in 2023.

What are the most successful horses for Champion Hurdle?

Few houses have claimed the title more than twice. Here is the list of the successful horses of Champion Hurdle.

  • Hatton’s Grace (1949, 1950, 1951)
  • Sir Ken (1952, 1953, 1954)
  • Persian War (1968, 1969, 1970)
  • See You Then (1985, 1986, 1987)
  • Istabraq  (1998, 1999, 2000)

Who are the successful Jockey in Champion Hurdle History?

Here are a few of the jockeys with more than 3 wins in their career.

  • Tim Molony: Hatton’s Grace (1951), Sir Ken (1952, 1953, 1954)
  • Ruby Walsh: Hurricane Fly (2011, 2013), Faugheen (2015), Annie Power (2016)
  • Barry Geraghty: Punjabi (2009), Jezki (2014), Buveur D’Air (2018), Epatante (2020)

Who are the leading trainer in Champion Hurdle History?

Here is the most successful trainer in Champion Hurdle History.

  • Nicky Henderson: See You Then (1985, 1986, 1987), Punjabi (2009), Binocular (2010), Buveur D’Air (2017, 2018), Epatante (2020)

Who is the leading owner of The Champion Hurdle?

J. P. McManus with Istabraq (1998, 1999, 2000), Binocular (2010), Jezki (2014), Buveur D’Air (2017, 2018), Espoir d’Allen (2019) and Epatante (2020) is the leading owner of the champion hurdle.

Leave a Comment