Challenge Cup 2023 | Cheltenham Festival

The Fulke Walwyn Kim Muir Challenge Cup is a National Hunt steeplechase for amateur riders in the Great Britain. Horses must be five years old or older to compete. The chase is run on Cheltenham’s New Course over a distance of about 3 miles and 2 furlongs (5,230 meters), with twenty-one fences to be jumped. It is a handicap event that is held each year at the Cheltenham Festival in March.

The event was first held in 1946 and was known as the Kim Muir Amateur Riders’ Steeplechase. Mrs Evan Williams proposed it and named it after her brother, Kim Muir, a cavalry trooper who died during World War II; the name Fulke Walwyn was added to the title in 1991. This was done in honor of the legendary trainer, who won 211 races at Cheltenham, including 40 during the Festival.

Only professional jockeys rode in the 2021 race, since amateur riders were barred from competing owing to limitations on grassroots sport in the United Kingdom due to the COVID-19 epidemic.

Challenge Cup Winner List 1946-2022

1946Astrometer810–13Denis BaggallayCharles Rogers
1948Double Bridge710-OctJ. GaleBay Powell
1949Jack Tatters112-DecLord MildmayFulke Walwyn
1950Morning Cover910-OctA. ParkerGerry Wilson
1951Mighty Fine911-NovPeter ChismanFred Rimell
1952Menzies1010–11Peter ChismanSyd Mercer
1953Crudwell711-NovAtty CorbettFrank Cundell
1954Arctic Gold93-DecTed GreenwayGerald Balding
1955Gay Monarch II93-NovRupert WatsonFred Rimell
1956Filon d’Or910-OctDanny MoraleeHorace Cousins
1957Mighty Apollo810–13Bobby BrewisDavid Machin
1958Lochroe102-DecEdward CazaletPeter Cazalet
1959Irish Coffee910–13Gay KindersleyCharlie McCartan
1960Solray63-NovNick UptonF. Cliffe
1961Nicolaus Silver95-OctBill TellwrightFred Rimell
1962Carrickbeg612-SepGiles PitmanDon Butchers
1963Centre Circle810–12Basil AncilDerek Ancil
1964Jim’s Tavern74-OctGiles PitmanJohn Hicks
1965Burton Tan103-NovRobin CollieRobin Collie
1966Jimmy Scot109-OctJohn LawrenceFulke Walwyn
1967Chu-Teh88-OctNick GaseleeKen Cundell
1968Chu-Teh96-OctDavid Crossley-CookeKen Cundell
1969Pride of Kentucky74-OctRoger CharltonEdward Courage
1970Rainbow Valley710–12Michael DickinsonTony Dickinson
1971Black Baize66-OctJohn LawrenceBill Shand Kydd
1972The Ghost711-NovJohn MeadVernon Cross
1973Hinterland77-OctBill FoulkesTim Forster
1974Castleruddery85-OctTed WalshPeter McCreery
1975Quick Reply101-NovRidley LambHarry Bell
1976Prolan77-NovTed WalshEdward O’Grady
1977Double Negative79-OctPeter BrookshawFred Rimell
1979Redundant Punter912-SepD. JacksonTim Forster
1980Good Prospect1110–12Jim WilsonJohn Edwards
1981Waggoners Walk123-OctC. CundallCaroline Mason
1982Political Pop8Dec-00Dermot BrowneMichael Dickinson
1983Greasepaint85-NovColin MagnierMichael Cunningham
1984Broomy Bank94-NovJim WilsonJohn Edwards
1985Glyde Court85-OctSimon SherwoodFred Winter
1986Glyde Court9Nov-00John QueallyFred Winter
1987The Ellier115-OctGee ArmytageNigel Tinkler
1988Golden Minstrel91-NovTom GranthamJosh Gifford
1989Cool Ground7Oct-00Anthony ToryRichard Mitchell
1990Master Bob101-OctJohn BerryNicky Henderson
1991Omerta1113-SepAdrian MaguireMartin Pipe
1992Tug of Gold72-OctMarcus ArmytageDavid Nicholson
1993Strong Beau88-SepTom JenksDavid Nicholson
1994Fighting Words8Oct-00Tim McCarthyJosh Gifford
1995Flyer’s Nap910-SepPeter HenleyRobert Alner
1996Stop the Waller711-SepKen WhelanFerdy Murphy
1997King Lucifer85-NovRobert ThorntonDavid Nicholson
1998In Truth109-SepSeamus DurackSteve Gollings
1999Celtic Giant9Oct-00Bruce GibsonLen Lungo
2000Honey Mount912-SepRobert WalfordRobert Alner
2002The Bushkeeper82-NovDavid CrosseNicky Henderson
2003Royal Predica910–13Saul McHughMartin Pipe
2004Maximise106-OctDarren EdwardsMartin Pipe
2005Juveigneur87-NovRichard BurtonNicky Henderson
2006You’re Special910–12Richard HardingFerdy Murphy
2007Cloudy Lane710–11Richard BurtonDonald McCain, Jr.
2008High Chimes910-OctJames TudorEvan Williams
2009Character Building911–12Jamie CoddJohn Quinn
2010Ballabriggs911–12Richard HardingDonald McCain, Jr.
2011Junior86-NovJamie CoddDavid Pipe
2012Sunnyhillboy911-NovAlan BerryJonjo O’Neill
2013Same Difference77-NovRyan HatchNigel Twiston-Davies
2014Spring Heeled76-NovRobbie McNamaraJim Culloty
2015The Package124-NovJamie CoddDavid Pipe
2016Cause of Causes89-NovJamie CoddGordon Elliott
2017Domesday Book74-NovGina AndrewsStuart Edmunds
2018Missed Approach85-NovNoel McParlanWarren Greatrex
2019Any Second Now711-NovDerek O’ConnorTed Walsh
2020Milan Native78-NovRob JamesGordon Elliott
2021Mount Ida79-NovJack KennedyDenise Foster
2022Chambard1012-OctLucy TurnerVenetia Williams

What is the total Distance to be covered in Challenge Cup?

3m 2f (5,230 metres)

What is the Surface of Challenge Cup?


What is the Minimum Age Requirement for Challenge Cup 2023?

Five-years-old and up.

What Channel is Challenge Cup 2023 on?

Challenge Cup 2023 will be broadcasted on iTV1 and Racing TV. Besides this you can approach various online streaming media services to watch the race live.

When is Challenge Cup 2023?

Challenge Cup 2023 is scheduled to be happen on the day 3 of Cheltenham Festival 2023 which is 16th March, 2023.

What Time will Challenge Cup 2023 Begin?

Challenge Cup 2023 will begin at 17:30 UK time.

Where will be Challenge Cup 2023?

Challenge Cup is to be happen on the Old Course at Cheltenham.

What is the Purse for Challenge Cup 2023?

The purse for Challenge Cup 2023 is expected to somewhat near £350,000. In 2021, the winner, took home £32,498 from the total prize pool of £52,500.

Who are the Successful Jockey in Challenge Cup History?

Jamie Codd – Character Building (2009), Junior (2011), The Package (2015), Cause of Causes (2016)

Who are the leading trainer in Challenge Cup History?

Fred Rimell – Mighty Fine (1951), Gay Monarch II (1955), Nicolaus Silver (1961), Double Negative (1977)

Leave a Comment