The Brown Advisory Novices Steeple Chase 2023 | Cheltenham Festival

The Brown Advisory Novices Chase is a Grade 1 National Hunt chase in the United Kingdom for horses aged five and above. It is raced over a distance of around 3 miles (3 miles and 80 yards, or 4,901 meters) on the Old Course at Cheltenham, and there are twenty fences to leap throughout the race. The event is scheduled annually at the Cheltenham Festival in March and is open to novice chasers. The race was initially named as the Broadway Novices Chase, and it was registered as so in 2021, although it has been held under numerous sponsored names since the mid-1960s.

The Tote sponsored it from 1964 to 1973, and it was known as the Totalisator Champion Novices Chase. The RSA Insurance Group, as well as its predecessors Sun Alliance (1974–1996) and Royal & SunAlliance (1997–2008), backed it from 1974 to 2020. Brown Advisory and Meriebelle Stable have sponsored the event since 2021. Several winners of the event have gone on to win the Cheltenham Gold Cup, the most prestigious chase on the National Hunt calendar. Lord Windermere, the 2014 winner of the latter event, was the most recent.

Brown Advisory Novices Steeple Chase Winner List 1946-2022

1946Birthlaw11Ted VinallTommy Rayson
1948(1)Blakely Grove7Joe MaguireIvor Anthony
1948(2)Mountain Prince9Bryan MarshallFulke Walwyn
1949(1)Glen Fire6J. Spencer[b]Syd Mercer
1949(2)Comeragh8D. KellyNoel Furlong
1950(1)Manicou5Lord Mildmay[b]Peter Cazalet
1950(2)Arctic Gold5Glen KellyGerald Balding
1951On View8Bryan MarshallFulke Walwyn
1952Good and Plenty8Jimmy PowerJack Fawcus
1953Coneyburrow7Pat TaaffeJoe Osbourne
1954Glenbeigh8Dave DickFulke Walwyn
1955Great Eliza7B. CooperDanny Morgan
1956Polar Flight6Tommy CusackGeorge Spann
1957Mandarin6Michael ScudamoreFulke Walwyn
1958Just Awake6Arthur FreemanPeter Cazalet
1959Mac Joy7Arthur FreemanKen Bailey
1960Solfen8Pat TaaffeWillie O'Grady
1961Grallagh Cnoc7Pat TaaffeJoe Osbourne
1962Caduval7Laurie MorganBogden Lubecki
1963Arkle6Pat TaaffeTom Dreaper
1964Buona Notte7Johnny HaineBob Turnell
1965Arkloin6Liam McLoughlinTom Dreaper
1966Different Class6David MouldPeter Cazalet
1967Border Jet7Josh GiffordRyan Price
1968Herring Gull6John CrowleyPaddy Mullins
1969Spanish Steps6John CookEdward Courage
1970Proud Tarquin7Pat TaaffeTom Dreaper
1971Tantalum7David NicholsonMichael Pope
1972Clever Scot7David MouldHarry Thomson Jones
1973Killiney7Richard PitmanFred Winter
1974Ten Up7Tommy CarberryJim Dreaper
1975Pengrail7John FrancomeFred Winter
1976Tied Cottage8Tommy CarberryDan Moore
1977Gay Spartan6Michael DickinsonTony Dickinson
1978Sweet Joe6Steve Smith EcclesHarry Thomson Jones
1979Master Smudge7Richard HoareArthur Barrow
1980Lacson8Steve KnightBob Hawker
1981Lesley Ann7Colin BrownDavid Elsworth
1982Brown Chamberlin7John FrancomeFred Winter
1983Canny Danny7Niall MaddenJimmy FitzGerald
1984A Kinsman8Geordie DunJohn Brockbank
1985Antarctic Bay8Frank BerryPat Hughes
1986Cross Master9Reg CrankTom Bill
1987Kildimo7Graham BradleyToby Balding
1988The West Awake7Simon SherwoodOliver Sherwood
1989Envopak Token8Peter HobbsJosh Gifford
1990Garrison Savannah7Ben de HaanJenny Pitman
1991Rolling Ball8Peter ScudamoreMartin Pipe
1992Miinnehoma9Peter ScudamoreMartin Pipe
1993Young Hustler6Peter ScudamoreNigel Twiston-Davies
1994Monsieur Le Cure8Peter NivenJohn Edwards
1995Brief Gale8Philip HideJosh Gifford
1996Nahthen Lad7Warren MarstonJenny Pitman
1997Hanakham8Richard DunwoodyRon Hodges
1998Florida Pearl6Richard DunwoodyWillie Mullins
1999Looks Like Trouble7Paul CarberryNoel Chance
2000Lord Noelie7Jim CullotyHenrietta Knight
2002Hussard Collonges7Russ GarrittyPeter Beaumont
2003One Knight7Richard JohnsonPhilip Hobbs
2004Rule Supreme8David CaseyWillie Mullins
2005Trabolgan7Mick FitzgeraldNicky Henderson
2006Star de Mohaison5Barry GeraghtyPaul Nicholls
2007Denman7Ruby WalshPaul Nicholls
2008Albertas Run7Tony McCoyJonjo O'Neill
2009Cooldine7Ruby WalshWillie Mullins
2010Weapon's Amnesty7Davy RussellCharles Byrnes
2011Bostons Angel7Robbie PowerJessica Harrington
2012Bobs Worth7Barry GeraghtyNicky Henderson
2013Lord Windermere7Davy RussellJim Culloty
2014O'Faolain's Boy7Barry GeraghtyRebecca Curtis
2015Don Poli6Bryan CooperWillie Mullins
2016Blaklion7Ryan HatchNigel Twiston-Davies
2017Might Bite8Nico de BoinvilleNicky Henderson
2018Presenting Percy7Davy RussellPatrick G Kelly
2019Topofthegame7Harry CobdenPaul Nicholls
2020Champ8Barry GeraghtyNicky Henderson
2021Monkfish7Paul TownendWillie Mullins
2022L'Homme Presse7Charlie DeutschVenetia Williams

What is the total distance to be covered in the Brown Advisory Novices Steeple Chase?

3m 80y (4,901 meters)

What is the surface of the Brown Advisory Novices Steeple Chase?

The race will be on Turf Surface.

What is the minimum age requirement for Brown Advisory Novices Steeple Chase 2023?

The age of the runner must be more than 5 to 6 years.

What channel is the Brown Advisory Novices Steeple Chase 2023 on?

Brown Advisory Novices Steeple Chase 2022 will be broadcasted on iTV1 and Racing TV. Besides this, you can approach various online streaming media services to watch the race live.

When is the Brown Advisory Novices Steeple Chase 2023?

The Brown Advisory Novices Steeple Chase 2022 is scheduled to happen on day two of Cheltenham Festival 2023 which is 15th March 2022.

What time will the Brown Advisory Novices Steeple Chase 2023 begin?

The Brown Advisory Novices Steeple Chase 2023 will begin at 14:10 UK time.

Where will be the Brown Advisory Novices Steeple Chase 2023?

The Brown Advisory Novices Steeple Chase is to happen on the Old Course at Cheltenham.

What is the Purse for Brown Advisory Novices Steeple Chase 2023?

The purse for the Brown Advisory Novices Steeple Chase 2023 is expected to be somewhat near £150,000. In 2021, The winner took home £73,854 from the total prize pool of £131,250.

Who is the successful Jockey in Brown Advisory Novices Steeple Chase History?

Pat Taaffe with Coneyburrow (1953), Solfen (1960), Grallagh Cnoc (1961), Arkle (1963), and Proud Tarquin (1970) is the leading Jockey with 5 wins in Brown advisory novices steeplechase.

Who is the leading trainer in Brown Advisory Novices Steeple Chase History?

Willie Mullins with Florida Pearl (1998), Rule Supreme (2004), Cooldine (2009), Don Poli (2015), and Monkfish (2021) is the leading trainer in the brown advisory novices steeplechase.

Who won the Brown Advisory Novices Steeple Chase?

L’Homme Presse won the Brown Advisory Novices Steeple Chase of 2022.

Leave a Comment