Betway Bowl 2023 | Grand National Festival

The race was first held in 1984 as a consolation prize for horses who had been beaten or were unable to compete in the previous month’s Cheltenham Gold Cup. The initial race was sponsored by Perrier-Jout and was dubbed the Perrier-Jout Champagne Cup. Whitbread sponsored it for the next three years, and it was known as the Whitbread Gold Label Cup.

Martell (the Martell Cup, the Martell Cognac Cup) and Betfair have been subsequent sponsors (the Betfair Bowl). Totesport began sponsoring the game as the Totesport Bowl in 2008, and Betfred took over the sponsorship in 2012 after purchasing The Tote in 2011. From the 2017 race, Betway took over sponsorship.

In 2010, the race was elevated to Grade 1 classification. It presently takes place on the first day of the three-day Grand National Festival.

The Betway Bowl is a Grade 1 National Hunt steeplechase held in the United Kingdom for horses aged five and up. It is run over a distance of approximately 3 miles and 1 furlong (3 miles and 210 yards, or 5,020 meters) at Aintree, with nineteen obstacles to be jumped. Every year in early April, the race is scheduled to take place.

Betway Bowl Winner List 1984-2022

1984Royal Bond11Tom TaaffeArthur Moore
1985Wayward Lad10John FrancomeMonica Dickinson
1986Beau Ranger8Hywel DaviesJohn Thorne
1987Wayward Lad12Graham McCourtMonica Dickinson
1988Desert Orchid9Simon SherwoodDavid Elsworth
1989Yahoo8Tom MorganJohn Edwards
1990Toby Tobias8Mark PitmanJenny Pitman
1991Aquilifer11Richard DunwoodyMartin Pipe
1992Kings Fountain9Anthony ToryKim Bailey
1993Docklands Express11Jamie OsborneKim Bailey
1994Docklands Express12Richard DunwoodyKim Bailey
1995Merry Gale7Graham BradleyJim Dreaper
1996Scotton Banks7Lorcan WyerTim Easterby
1997Barton Bank11David WalshDavid Nicholson
1998Escartefigue6Richard JohnsonDavid Nicholson
1999Macgeorge9Adrian MaguireRichard Lee
2000See More Business10Mick FitzgeraldPaul Nicholls
2001First Gold8Thierry DoumenFrançois Doumen
2002Florida Pearl10Barry GeraghtyWillie Mullins
2003First Gold10Thierry DoumenFrançois Doumen
2004Tiutchev11Tony McCoyMartin Pipe
2005Grey Abbey11Graham LeeHoward Johnson
2006Celestial Gold8Timmy MurphyMartin Pipe
2007Exotic Dancer7Tony McCoyJonjo O’Neill
2008Our Vic10Timmy MurphyDavid Pipe
2009Madison du Berlais8Tom ScudamoreDavid Pipe
2010What A Friend7Ruby WalshPaul Nicholls
2011Nacarat10Paddy BrennanTom George
2012Follow The Plan9Tom DoyleOliver McKiernan
2013First Lieutenant8Bryan CooperMouse Morris
2014Silviniaco Conti8Noel FehilyPaul Nicholls
2015Silviniaco Conti9Noel FehilyPaul Nicholls
2016Cue Card10Paddy BrennanColin Tizzard
2017Tea For Two8Lizzie KellyNick Williams
2018Might Bite9Nico de BoinvilleNicky Henderson
2019Kemboy7Ruby WalshWillie Mullins
2021Clan Des Obeaux9Harry CobdenPaul Nicholls
2022Clan Des Obeaux10Harry CobdenPaul Nicholls

What is the total Distance to be covered in Betway Bowl?

3m 210y (5,020 meters)

What is the Surface of Betway Bowl?


What is the Minimum Age Requirement for Betway Bowl 2023?

Five years old and up.

What Channel is Betway Bowl 2023 on?

Betway Bowl 2023 will be broadcasted on iTV1 and Racing TV. Besides this, you can approach various online streaming media services to watch the race live.

When is Betway Bowl 2023?

Betway Bowl 2023 is scheduled to happen on day 1 of Grand National 2023, 13th April 2023.

What Time will Betway Bowl 2023 Begin?

Betway Bowl 2023 will begin at 2:55 UK time.

Where will Betway Bowl be 2023?

Betway Bowl is to happen on the Aintree Racecourse.

What is the Purse for Betway Bowl 2023?

The purse for Betway Bowl 2023 is expected to somewhat near £300,000. In 2022, the winner, took home £140,325 from the total prize pool of £250,000.

Who is the most successful Jockey in Betway Bowl History?

  • Richard Dunwoody – Aquilifer (1991), Docklands Express (1994)
  • Thierry Doumen – First Gold (2001, 2003)
  • Tony McCoy – Tiutchev (2004), Exotic Dancer (2007)
  • Timmy Murphy – Celestial Gold (2006), Our Vic (2008)
  • Noel Fehily – Silviniaco Conti (2014, 2015)
  • Paddy Brennan – Nacarat (2011), Cue Card (2016)
  • Ruby Walsh – What A Friend (2010), Kemboy (2019)
  • Harry Cobden – Clan Des Obeaux (2021, 2022)

Who is the leading trainer in Betway Bowl History?

Paul Nicholls – See More Business (2000), What a Friend (2010), Silviniaco Conti (2014, 2015), Clan Des Obeaux (2021, 2022)

Leave a Comment