Aintree Hurdle 2023 | Grand National Festival

The Aintree Hurdle is a Grade 1 National Hunt hurdle competition in Great Britain accessible to horses aged four and up. It is run at Aintree over a distance of approximately 2 miles and 4 furlongs (4,023 meters), with eleven hurdles to be jumped. The race is held each year in early April.

The event was founded in 1976, and it was originally run over 2 miles and 5½ furlongs. It was trimmed to its current length in 1988. The event is held during the three-day Grand National meeting and is generally held on the last day, Saturday. In 2013, it was relocated to the first day of the meeting, Thursday.

The Aintree Hurdle frequently contains horses that had previously run over a shorter distance in the Champion Hurdle, and the last horse to win both competitions in the same year was Buveur d’Air in 2017.

The 2010 race was named after Dick Francis (1920-2010), a former jockey who was strongly affiliated with Aintree. He notably rode Devon Loch in the Grand National, and he was leading the race on the run-in when the horse leapt and was overtaken. Betway has been the race’s sponsor since 2017.

Aintree Hurdle Winner List 1976-2022

1976Comedy of Errors9Ken WhiteFred Rimell
1977Night Nurse (DH)6Paddy BroderickPeter Easterby
1977Monksfield (DH)5Dessie HughesDes McDonogh
1978Monksfield6Dessie HughesDes McDonogh
1979Monksfield7Dessie HughesDes McDonogh
1980Pollardstown5Philip BlackerStan Mellor
1981Daring Run6Ted Walsh[a]Peter McCreery
1982Daring Run7Ted Walsh[a]Peter McCreery
1983Gaye Brief6Richard LinleyMercy Rimell
1984Dawn Run6Tony MullinsPaddy Mullins
1985Bajan Sunshine6Peter ScudamoreMartin Tate
1986Aonoch7Jimmy DugganSally Oliver
1987Aonoch8Jacqui OliverSally Oliver
1988Celtic Chief5Richard DunwoodyMercy Rimell
1989Beech Road7Richard GuestToby Balding
1990Morley Street6Jimmy FrostToby Balding
1991Morley Street7Jimmy FrostToby Balding
1992Morley Street8Richard DunwoodyToby Balding
1993Morley Street9Graham BradleyToby Balding
1994Danoli6Charlie SwanTom Foley
1995Danoli7Charlie SwanTom Foley
1996Urubande6Charlie SwanAidan O’Brien
1997Bimsey7Mick FitzgeraldReg Akehurst
1998Pridwell8Tony McCoyMartin Pipe
1999Istabraq7Charlie SwanAidan O’Brien
2000Mister Morose10Carl LlewellynNigel Twiston-Davies
2001Barton8Tony DobbinTim Easterby
2002Ilnamar6Ruby WalshMartin Pipe
2003Sacundai6Ruby WalshEdward O’Grady
2004Rhinestone Cowboy8J. P. Magnier[a]Jonjo O’Neill
2005Al Eile5Timmy MurphyJohn Queally
2006Asian Maze7Ruby WalshTom Mullins
2007Al Eile7Timmy MurphyJohn Queally
2008Al Eile8Timmy MurphyJohn Queally
2009Solwhit5Davy RussellCharles Byrnes
2010Khyber Kim8Paddy BrennanNigel Twiston-Davies
2011Oscar Whisky6Barry GeraghtyNicky Henderson
2012Oscar Whisky7Barry GeraghtyNicky Henderson
2013Zarkandar6Ruby WalshPaul Nicholls
2014The New One6Sam Twiston-DaviesNigel Twiston-Davies
2015Jezki7Tony McCoyJessica Harrington
2016Annie Power8Ruby WalshWillie Mullins
2017Buveur d’Air6Barry GeraghtyNicky Henderson
2018L’Ami Serge8Daryl JacobNicky Henderson
2019Supasundae9Robbie PowerJessica Harrington
2021Abacadabras7Jack KennedyDenise Foster
2022Epatante8Aidan ColemanNicky Henderson

What is the total Distance to be covered in Aintree Hurdle?

2m 4f (4,023 meters)

What is the Surface of Aintree Hurdle?


What is the Minimum Age Requirement for Aintree Hurdle 2023?

Four years old and up.

What Channel is Aintree Hurdle 2023 on?

Aintree Hurdle 2023 will be broadcasted on iTV1 and Racing TV. Besides this you can approach various online streaming media services to watch the race live.

When is Aintree Hurdle 2023?

Aintree Hurdle 2023 is scheduled to happen on day 1 of Grand National 2023, 13th March 2023.

What Time will Aintree Hurdle 2023 Begin?

Aintree Hurdle 2023 will begin at 3:30 UK time.

Where will be Aintree Hurdle 2023?

Aintree Hurdle is to happen on the Aintree Racecourse.

What is the Purse for Aintree Hurdle 2023?

The purse for Aintree Hurdle 2023 is expected to be near £300,000. In 2022, the winner took £140,325 from the total prize pool of £250,000.

Who is the most successful Jockey in Aintree Hurdle History?

With 5 Wins Ruby Walsh – Ilnamar (2002), Sacundai (2003), Asian Maze (2006), Zarkandar (2013), Annie Power (2016)

Who is the leading trainer in Aintree Hurdle History?

  • Toby Balding – Beech Road (1989), Morley Street (1990, 1991, 1992, 1993)
  • Nicky Henderson – Oscar Whisky (2011,2012), Buveur d’Air (2017), L’Ami Serge (2018), Epatante (2022)

Leave a Comment